Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

False rejection of valid sender domain

TYN
Dabbler

Re: False rejection of valid sender domain

@Kwak

Thanks for the mxtools link. Im going to work through some of its suggestions. 

The reason i belive it is plusnet is that the system was working for about a decade without problem or change to my MX record. The only variable has been changes with the Plusnet service.

pjmarsh
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 20

Thanks for confirming @TYN.  I'm no expert on this (though do have some knowledge on it which could be a dangerous thing!), but wouldn't that domain need mx records in order to receive mail? Therefore emails to the stated email address wouldn't be routable?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

TYN
Dabbler

@jelv

Thanks for the suggestion. I prefer to host the mail myself. I once had a very bad experience with hosted mail when an isp went broke and lost all my files (website and emails)

I have been happier taking charge of my own data (until last year).

jelv
Seasoned Hero
Fixes: 10

You could still host the mail yourself: move the domain registration and name servers away from Plusnet and it would all be under your own control.

Plusnet are not going to give any issue priority unless it is affecting hundreds or thousands of users.

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
MJN
Pro
Fixes: 5

The problem with that is outgoing mail and reputation-based spam filtering. A dynamic IP will suffer badly, and even a static address may struggle if you don't send enough mail to earn a positive reputation. The reliance on the ISP's mail server therefore continues (the alternative being a paid 3rd party).
jelv
Seasoned Hero