cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Emails showing as READ when they arrive on webmail

Colin-A
Hooked

Emails showing as READ when they arrive on webmail

I have researched this and tested as much as I can (I work in IT so understand email).

I first noticed it, as I don't use webmail, use programs and phones but upon setting up an IMAP config on a PC and phone I noticed the email would always show as read as soon as it arrived.  Thought it must be a setting on a phone or PC - tried everything!  Nothing solved it.  Oddly I thought it was something on PlusNet setting son their mail but cannot find anything.  Even spoke to chat who were next to useless - just pointed me to "how to setup email" info.

More testing on another account (I have a few) revealed it to be exactly the same - this email is accessed via POP3 so no IMAP settings to cloud the issue.  Still its webmail marks email as read on receipt too.

Anyone any ideas - I've trawled the internet but this appears to be a PlusNet config issue.

Next post of call is to raise a ticket but thought I would try here first.

Thank if anyone has any ideas or has had this issue.

I might setup a new email address but I guess it could be an overall setting on my account 😞

18 REPLIES 18
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 158

Re: Emails showing as READ when they arrive on webmail

Hi Colin,

A warm welcome to the forums.

Your description is a little confusing, but I think in summary you are saying the following...

1. You have a Plusnet mailbox
  2. On a PC you read that mail using a POP3 email client
  3. You then look at the mailbox using an IMAP client (either on some other device or via webmail)
  4. Those clients see the emails as being read

If the above understanding is correct, then (if POP3 is configured to leave emails on the server) everything is working correctly.