cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Emails from domain name to Gmail addresses rejected

GRM_

Emails from domain name to Gmail addresses rejected

I have been using the same email settings for over 20 years using my domain name from 'Freenetname'. I now find most emails to a Gmail address are rejected. My basic Plusnet email address is XXXX@freenetname.co.uk. I have changed my Thunderbird PC settings to use: relay.plus.net, port 587, START TLS enabled.

The error message I get is:

Reporting-MTA: dns; avasout-peh-004 [212.159.14.20]
Received-From-MTA: dns; [192.168.1.101] [31.125.14.28]
Arrival-Date: Sun, 04 Jun 2023 09:58:27 +0100

Final-recipient: rfc822; XXXX@gmail.com
Diagnostic-Code: smtp; 550-5.7.26 This mail is unauthenticated, which poses a security risk to the

Having read other threads I moved my domain name to Fasthosts, still using nameservers ns1.force9.net & ns2.force9.net. I added SPF TXT record 'v=spf1 a mx include:_spf-internal.plus.net include:_spf-internal2.plus.net ~all'

My emails to Gmail addresses are still mostly being rejected. Any suggestions why this hasn't worked for me?

11 REPLIES 11
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 395

Re: Emails from domain name to Gmail addresses rejected

still using nameservers ns1.force9.net & ns2.force9.net. I added SPF TXT record 'v=spf1 a mx include:_spf-internal.plus.net include:_spf-internal2.plus.net ~all'

I dont see how you could have added an spf record if you are still using the Plusnet nameservers ?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Fixes: 1,600

If the domain name in question is the one you’ve signed up to the Community with, then doing a lookup here doesn’t show that an SPF record has been added.