Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Email passwords and account password - trying to sort out

Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

Email passwords and account password - trying to sort out

Having, somewhat belatedly, realised that I need to separate my account login and associated router password from my email passwords I need a little help

I have a number of email accounts in the form username+mailboxname and these I would assume can be changed as they presently using the account login password but to avoid major disruption I would want to use the account login password specifically for each mailbox so that when I change the account login password they will still work
Can I do this

Now there is another mailbox which I have never used which is username@username.plus.com which appears under Mailboxes but not under Summary and is shown as Default
What is the reason for this as it can't be edited or removed

Note that I have a mailbox postmaster@username.plus.com for Plusnet emails

7 REPLIES 7
spraxyt
Resting Legend
Fixes: 75

Re: Email passwords and account password - trying to sort out

@Oldjim wrote:

I have a number of email accounts in the form username+mailboxname and these I would assume can be changed as they presently using the account login password but to avoid major disruption I would want to use the account login password specifically for each mailbox so that when I change the account login password they will still work
Can I do this

All mailboxes apart from the default one have their own passwords. These passwords were individually set in Manage My Mail (MMM) and can be individually changed in MMM. If they are the same string as the account/username password that's because they were individually set that way. If the account/username password is changed this will have no effect on these mailbox passords.