cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't send email on iPad IOS 12

FIXED
technophobe

Can't send email on iPad IOS 12

After updating to IOS 12 I can no longer send emails from my iPad although I can receive them without issue. Windows laptop works fine. No settings have been changed since emails were working ok on previous IOS 11, after checking the settings on the iPad are all set in accordance to Plusnet advice.

I seem to remember something similar happening after an another Apple update and I was given some alternative settings in order to get things working again. Any advice or help gratefully received. (PS I'm not an expert in IT so please use basic terminology, thanks).

6 REPLIES 6
Khands

Re: Can't send email on iPad IOS 12

I’m having the same problems.......

spraxyt
Resting Legend
Fixes: 75

If all the obvious settings are still correct it's possible this problem is due to Mailbox Behaviours settings having changed. I discovered mine had on my iPhone after update to iOS 12, though interestingly not on my iPad Mini (which does WiFi only) after the same update.

On my iPhone "WiFi errors" was displayed under the "Just updated now" message at the bottom of the Mailboxes list and individual account Inbox lists.

To check/correct Mailbox Behaviour

Tap Settings and tap Passwords & Accounts
Tap a problem account name then tap Account at the top
Tap Advanced at the bottom of the list

In the Mailbox Behaviours section at the top
Tap Drafts Mailbox and make sure the tick is against Drafts in the On the Server section
Tap < Advanced to go back one level
Tap Sent Mailbox and make sure the tick is against Sent in the On the Server section
Tap < Advanced again then
Tap Deleted Maibox and make sure the tick is against Trash in the On the Server Section
Tap < Advanced again

Now tap < Account to go back a level and tap Done