cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't recieve email on mobile

justin
Dabbler

Can't recieve email on mobile

I have set up my plusnet email account on my mobile and can send email which arrives at its destination ok. But I can't receive. I've checked all the setting with the plusnet guides and other advice available via a google search and i've tried setting it up as both Pop3 then Imap but still can't recieve emails. I did once earlier today get one email to arrive but it  disappeared after it was opened and nothing since.
The phone is an Android Samsung S3 Mini and its running 4.1.2.
Can anyone suggest what is wrong please?
Thanks
15 REPLIES 15
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 160

Re: Can't recieve email on mobile

Justin,
I have no experience whit this device, however to avoid complications only use IMAP.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

artmo
Aspiring Champion

I had the same problem on this phone. I spoke to Plusnet and they gave me the following settings which work fine:
incoming server settings POP3 server mail.plus.net using port 110
outgoing server setting relay.plus.net using port 25.
artmo
Aspiring Champion

You could also try Port 587 on the outgoing server. The rest of the information should be completed as follows:
SMTP Server - relay.plus.net
Security Type - None
Port - 587
Require Sign-In - Ticked
User Name - Your plusnet username
Password - Your plusnet password
justin
Dabbler

Many thanks for your replies. Using the first suggestion (110) I now have this working which is strange because this is one of the setups I tried yesterday having found the info on the net. So I can now send and recieve but when I look at an email on my laptop it disappears from the phone although I have ticked to keep mail on the server.
Anybody any idea why my emails are disappearing please?
artmo