cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't receive emails

guyyyy

Can't receive emails

This is the first time I've asked a question here and must stress that I'm not very good with all this new technology. I have just bought a Samsung Galaxy Ace 2 which I'm told runs Android gingerbread software. I can't receive emails (I get a "connot connect server" message when I try) but I can send them OK. I have contacted Plusnet support who have confirmed that my email account has the correct server settings, port numbers etc. They advised me to contact my phone contract provider which is Orange. I've just spent almost 90 minutes talking to two a very patient support people at Orange who talked me through several changes to my phone's settings including setting up a totally new account using their own outgoing server setting and port number. Many things were tried but to no avail. In the end the Orange support person took my login and password and set up an identical account to mine at their end on a Samsung phone which had the same operating software (Android gingerbread). He got the same "cannot connect server" message. He said that my best bet was to ask Plusnet forum so here I am. Can you please help.
Regards
Malcolm Guy
10 REPLIES 10
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

Re: Can't receive emails

Are you trying to connect when connected to the Plusnet broadband or when you are connected to the Orange system
From your description it sounds as though you are trying to contact the Plusnet server via the Orange system
Assuming that this is the case, are you able to download emails when connected to the Plusnet system via your router
Either way is the email server you are using POP3 or IMAP and is it mail.plus.net or imap.plus.net as appropriate
Are you using the email address in the format username+mailbox name
guyyyy