cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Android 4.2.1 Email app can't send email - smtp problem

JohnMaltby

Android 4.2.1 Email app can't send email - smtp problem

I'm new to Android this week. It's a Nexus 4.
Gmail is working fine.
I have some old free PlusNet email accounts, and I need to be able to use them from this phone.
I can receive my PlusNet emails just fine, using either POP or IMAP.
But I can't send any.
Using: smtp.plus.net, port 587, no security, no sign-in - the phone accepts this setup, but then sent email just sits in the outbox and never goes.
Using: ditto but Require sign-in, using my username+oneofmyaccounts, and its password, I get "Username or password incorrect (535 ...authentication rejected)".
Also tried just username and pwd, still fails.
From other posts on here I see replies from PlusNet that sign-in doesn't work on free accounts. Ok, so try without sign-in.
As I say, phone accepts, but mail never gets sent.
Should have said: This is the same over WiFi or phone.
Cry
Regards
John Maltby
10 REPLIES 10
spraxyt
Resting Legend
Fixes: 75

Re: Android 4.2.1 Email app can't send email - smtp problem

The outgoing mail server you mentioned (smtp.plus.net) is not that documented (which is relay.plus.net) though it is aliased to the latter.
Are you able to send messages from those email accounts if you login using webmail?
David
JohnMaltby

I use the accounts from my PC, and I should have said I can use them from
My old non-android sony-e phone, using relay.plus.net.
I tried relay from the android too.
I got the accounts free, years ago.
JohnMaltby

Aha! I just changed the old phone to use port 587 and no authentication and then it can't send!
Change back to 25 and all is OK.
So the problem is android on nexus 4 won't let me use port 25.
So over now to the android forums...
grahamt
Rising Star