cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Absolute noob SMTP question.

DampDog
Dabbler

Absolute noob SMTP question.

Apologies if this question has been asked and answered before. I'm just in the process of switching to PlusNet from BT and not had any spare time to become acquainted with the forums as yet.

I'm just in the process of switching-over (about 10 days from now) so I'm still using BT as my ISP.

I'm trying to ensure that I pull over all my old emails over and get my email client set up. I use a free client called "EmClient".

Now when synchronising, it has no issues with my old BT email server, and it appears to work OK with the IMAP side of things with PlusNet. However It keeps showing connection errors for the SMTP side of things.

My understanding of exactly how these protocols all work is minimal so I was just wondering if maybe it's simply because I've not switched to PlusNet as my ISP as yet? 

Cheers

DD

11 REPLIES 11
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 253

Re: Absolute noob SMTP question.

Welcome to the forums, @DampDog your assumption in your final paragraph is 100% correct - until you have an established connection to Plusnet, you will be unable to send mail using their SMTP servers, and should continue using whatever you are doing now.

John
DampDog
Dabbler

Cheers for the super quick reply.Smiley

I can send and receive mail, which is the main thing. I double checked all the setting so guessed it might be something subtle/obvious if you have a better understanding than myself. 

I've not got to grips with the slightly odd email naming as yet. But as I say, this is my first visit and chance I've had to have a look at PlusNet in anger. No doubt I'll come up with some more questions at some point.

Thanks again.

jab1
Legend

Have a read of this with regards to setting-up/using PN email:https://www.plus.net/help/email-guides/