cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

upgrading my pc

N/A

upgrading my pc

Hi people i am a novice when it comes to inserting new things into my pc. I want to have more ram and maybe a new harddrive. how easy is it to insert these as i have no clue what to do.

Thanks
20 REPLIES
Community Veteran

upgrading my pc

Both are pretty easy but you do have to be careful if you are a novice in purchasing the correct products.

For ram check your motherboard manual to make sure you get the correct type and speed. Also check if you need to purchase the ram in pairs. You also need to check how many ram slots you have spare and which ones you can actually use.

For the disk, these are pretty easy to fit but it depend on whether you want to add an additional drive or replace your current one. If an additional drive then that is easy. If replacing your current one then you need to know how to copy your existing drives contents to the new one. There are many payfor tools around that can copy disk to disk and are designed for upgrading your current drive.

Or you could visit one of the many PC shops that offers a fitting service for you but make sure you backup all your important files because they don't always get it right.

Can I ask what your current system spec is - i.e. what processor and speed, how much ram, what motherboard (or PC make/model), what size disk have you got and how old is the PC itself (when did you buy it). Also what do you normally use it for (word processing, games etc) and what you expect the extra ram and disk to do for you.

If the system is very old you may not actually be able to upgrade the components you describe or it may be cheaper or better to replace the motherboard or some other components. Knowing a bit more of your usage and maybe even your budget may allow us to make alternative or better suited upgrade suggestions.

Cheers

Peter Cool
N/A

upgrading my pc