cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

can anyone program in c?

N/A

can anyone program in c?

i am a beginner at programming and am having some difficulty. does anybody know what to put for the following function. i have put the function and a comment about what it should do

crimADT createCriminal(char *name, char *offence, float height, int offences);

/* creates a new criminal record with the data passed in and returns a pointer to it */
9 REPLIES
N/A

can anyone program in c?

What exactly do you mean by
does anybody know what to put for the following function
?

Are you looking for someone to write the code for the function?
N/A

can anyone program in c?

well i just need some guidance for doing it with recursion. do the variables have to declared etc? i know it probably very simple but it seems to be baffling me more than other methods i am using
N/A

can anyone program in c?

recursion is a useful tool in C, but I'm not quite sure how you planned to apply recursion for this function you've listed.

A recursive routine is like any other, you need to declare the variables etc, but bear in mind that you need to make sure that it does end at some point, or else your machine will freeze. It's this danger which is why not every programming language will allow recursive functions.
N/A

can anyone program in c?

i am sorry this is still not making sense to me!!! how do i start?? i understand about the recursion now but just dont kno whow to write this function and what to put in it
N/A

can anyone program in c?

Before you write this function, you need to understand how the recursion will affect your function and how by calling the function from inside the function, the data will follow.

Recusive functions are used on file sorting for example.

What is the end result that you want to achive, start with that first, then slowly work your way down to understand how you achive the end result. This is called top down programming.