cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless Woes

ESL
Grafter
Posts: 70
Registered: 05-08-2007

Wireless Woes

HI,

I get the feeling I am being a bit of a dummy here, but here is my problem:

I have my ADSL line going into a 4 port router/modem. One port is connected direct to my PC and all works hunky-dory.

Next: add one wireless transport to port two on the router, type in it's IP address and ... zip! I can't speak to it.

Can someone less wirelessly-challenged please assist?

Can I only talk to the transport via a wirelessly connected PC for instance? The reason I ask is that the instruction book tells me to open my wireless LAN utility and connect to the transport. Then, to open the browser, then to type in the IP of the transport.

So does this mean I can't talk to it directly from my main PC?

It's an Airway 11Mbps Transport, with an expected IP of 192.168.0.1
The router is a speedtouch 510 V4, with the Firewall on, but otherwise default.

Sorry for all the questions, but this networking lark is new to me and I feel that there is a easy answer to this.
6 REPLIES
N/A

Wireless Woes

The first two things off the top of my head are.

1: Security within the Access Point prevents access via anything other than a wireless device. This is usualy a setting that can be changed.

2: Your wireless devices and your wired stuff are on different subnets.

Can you post your computers IP and subnet mask and the access points IP and subnet mask?
ESL
Grafter
Posts: 70
Registered: 05-08-2007

Wireless Woes

Ahh.

I have no Idea how to provide you with this information. Sorry, but as I said, this is all hairy stuff to me just now. :?
N/A

Wireless Woes

assuming you are on xp or win2k. Choose run type in cmd this will open a dos window
type ipconfig /all and this wil give you the ip info we need. We need this for each pc

What level have you set your wireless to 128 bit? How many pcs on the wirelles net and can they see each other?
ESL
Grafter
Posts: 70
Registered: 05-08-2007

Sorry for the delay - Crimbo

Thanks for giving me directions and sorry for the delay. I should have mentioned that this is not urgent and anyway - it's Crimbo Time! Merrry Xmas.

Anyway, here's the IP stuff:

Windows IP Configuration


Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : dads-dell
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link DFE-528TX PCI Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0D-88-19-FF-4C
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.138
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.138
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.138
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 26 December 2003 20:16:33
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 26 December 2003 22:16:33

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth LAN Access Server Driver
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-98-85-9F-4E



I guess what you are going to say is that the access point is not listed! But that seems to be the whole problem, I can't talk to the d**m thing. From what I can see, the router is at 10.0.0.138 and my PC is at 10.0.0.1.

I have an additional problem at the moment too, in that the PCMCIA card I purchased for my laptop, is a Cardbus variant. It's my luck that the laptop only has 16bit Type II PCMCIA and won't accept the Cardbus type. So there will be a slight delay until I can get it replaced.

Like I said earlier, I may be able to talk to it over the wireless link (wgich I don't have just yet), but I just thought it might be possible to get the config set before then, by talking to it directly by talking to it at 192.168.0.1, as per the instructions.

But then I'm new to all this - what do I know?

Merry Christmas All.
N/A

Wireless Woes

Well you have DHCP server enabled on the router,
who's IP address defaults to 10.0.0.138.
The DHCP server assigns addresses in the range 10.0.0.1-253.
It may have already changed the IP address to 10.0.0.2 for the WAP.
Try typing 10.0.0.2 and see if you get anything. Also Some WAP's
have a default 'name' if you type its name into the browser you would
also get the set up page.
As you've already figured theres no real point in accessing the set up
yet as you have'nt got your wireless pc configured.
Once you have the wireless card in the laptop and ready,
the laptop would then communicate with the WAP wirelessly
you would then be able to access the WAP's set up page and
enter the routers details so that the two would then communicate.
Alec.
ESL
Grafter
Posts: 70
Registered: 05-08-2007

Wireless Woes

Thanks for the pointers Alec.

I think I need to wait for the wireless card for the laptop before I start to sweat this too much.

Anyway, time for some more Xmas cheer I think. Wireless Networking can wait.

Cheers
George