cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Win 2K networking: help, what have I done?

docrobster
Grafter

I am new to networking, and recently got a home PNA network in a box, as it was going cheap.
I have 2 PCs both running win2k, and had managed to set up ics, but thought I would like file and print sharing.
Following the instructions in the manual, which were for win98, I changed the network ID's of the computer, so that they were both on the same workgroup (both PC's had previous lives on proper networks)
When asked if the network used a domain, I chose no, to try to keep it simple, but after reboot, both PC's no longer recognise the windows logon password, So I can get no further.
I've tried all the options | can think of re. safe mode, last known good configuration etc.
What have I done?
How can I undo it?
Is my only option to reinstall windows? If so how do I boot off the cdrom?
Yours, in desparation,
Rob
11 REPLIES
N/A

When you get to the windows password, dont put any password in, just click cancel. This should get yuo into the main workings of the computer.

Does win2k have a network wizard on it ? ( cant remember , sorry)

I know with XP and ME it does.
I run two PCS using XP and one server using Linux, and as long as they are on the same workgroup things should work ok. I dont see any reason why this shouldnt apply to 2k as well.

You need to get past that password problem first.

A bit of a rushed answer, but you seem like a person in distress LOL
docrobster
Grafter

Thanks for a speedy reply, I'll try when I get home from work. I'm not sure there was a cancel option though? Or maybe I'm paronoid!
N/A

When the password login box appears, there should be two buttons, OK and CANCEL. Just click the CANCEL without putting any password in.

Good Luck
docrobster
Grafter

As I thought, the Cancel button is greyed out and unavailable.
Why would this be?