cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

System Tray Balloons

Community Veteran

System Tray Balloons

With regard to what this post is orginally about i believe there is something about the balloons in the Group Policy Editor, i may be talking s**t but I am sure i saw it! Anyone know?
29 REPLIES
shermans
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

System Tray Balloons

I am new to Windows XP. I have just bought a new PC to replace my old 350 Hz running Windows 98. Frankly, what a waste of money. I have yet to find anything which runs any faster or works any better. I know of nothing which Windows 98 could not do equally as well as XP. And it is so frustrating that many good features of 98 are either absent or have been hidden away in XP. It seems to me that it was change for the sake of change and confirms my belief in the old adage "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" !

One really iritating thing about XP is that whenever I go online, a wretched pop-up pops up on the system tray to tell me that I am connected, and stays there until I click it. The same thing happens with my LAN. I have searched everywhere to find a way of turning these unnecessary notifications off.

Does anyone know how to do it ?
holdtight
Grafter

System Tray Balloons

Hi shermans
Apart from the stability issues xp being more stable i do tend to
agree with you

although i do run xp on one of my systems as well as linux i still run
2000 pro on my laptop and have no intention of changing it as its a
brilliant bit of kit and better than xp but it is based on the nt code as is
xp so probably no comparison to 98

To get rid of the annoying pop ups you can either edit the registry and if you
want to do that get back to me
or a better option would be to download Tweakui for xp and you will find
various settings you can change that will benefit you inc turning off pop ups
Community Veteran

System Tray Balloons

98 was broke and needed fixing badly: