cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sharing resources between home computer and office portable

N/A

I have 2 computers-desktop permanently at home -no network.Portable used at home and in my my office attached to a domain, and I am a domain administrator.

I can connect from home via my portable to a server in my office-via ras using lan on router.

Both computers use windows xp professionsl operating systems -ntfs files.

I use a router to connect both computers to internet at home. ( origo 8400-which works well)

I want to share printers at home and be able to transfer files from one computer to another. I have tried everything and failed. The problem appears to be because portable is connected to domain and desktop is not! I solve the problem by an arduos route sending files with attachments via email to transfer between 2 computers sitting next to each other. This seems an arduos and longwinded way of doing things.

I do not want to mess up any settings on my portable as it is used daily in my office and works well.In the office environment it is part of a much larger network. Nor do I want to change anything on the server in my office. IT professionals ,who are all powerful ogres there are responsible for network and I do not want to upset them!

Can someone please help!
16 REPLIES
N/A

on both your laptop and your desktop right click on "my Computer"
properties->Computer Name.

you should see "workgroup: NAME HERE"

these have to be the same

also, drop to command (start -> run -> "cmd")

and do

ipconfig /all

the IPs have to be in the same class ie X.X.X.Y
where Y is the only different number
the subnet should be the same A.A.A.A on both
the gateway should be the same B.B.B.B on both
the dns servers should be teh same on both

now if thats all correct, make sure you are not running the MS firewall (network conections -> does you icon have a padlock? (if yes turn it off)

are you running any other firewalls?