cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Purchasing a new computer

N/A

I bought a new laptop a few months ago but did not get with it the disc for the Windows XP operating system.

The firm keep telling me it is coming but it dows not arrive. I woould need it for re-formatting at some stage or after a crash.

Can anyone tell me if I have a right to demand this disc as part of the original purchase.? If so, any suggestions how to go about getting it?

From: fmslucas@marist.plus.com a reply by email would be greatly appreciated but one here would probably suffice. (I am new to this and don't see where to put my name etc. in any box)
13 REPLIES
N/A

Yes, you have the right to demand a disc from th supplier.

The OEM licence for Windows XP requires that the company supply either a generic OEM disk, retail disk (including box and paperware. This is only if purchasing a retail version with it, and installed) or other backup solution.

My advice would be to contact them again, and ask for them to place in writting what the delay is and how long they expect it to take to resolve.

Once you have this, you have proof that they are admitting your disk has not been issued. This should provide you with a place for future procedings.

The Office of Fair Trading should be able to get your disk once you have this written evidance.
N/A

Marist: Disc with purchase

Dear Mr. Richardson,

Many thanks for your answer to my query about getting supplier to give the windows XP disc.

I shall use your advice but I don't really knowf my purchase of the laptop implies my purchase of Windows XP.

It came bundled on the machine. Does that imply that I have a right to the windows disc?

What do you think?

Joseph V.McKeating fmslucas@marist.plus.net
N/A

Yes, it does imply the purchase of the CD.

As we should all know by now, Microsoft are rather strict in there licence agreement to the consumer.