cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Noise after defrag on HD

N/A

Noise after defrag on HD

Forgive my non technical speak as I am fairly new to the technical side of PCs, but
having done a defrag, I have noticed that the hard drive seems to have more louder "clicks" coming from it.. Whenever you load a programme it seems to have the odd louder click in with the normal sounds that come from a hard drive.
There are no gratting or whirring sounds or any signs of a mechanical problem with the drive, and programmes do load ok as does XP Home Edition, and the screen does not freeze.
The hard drive is silent until it is active loading etc.. could the hard drive become "sticky" or "jerky" for some reason causing this louder click. to come from the drive, but wouldn't this cause more problems? surely a defrag wouldn't cause a fault? Maybe I was just used to the sounds prior to the defrag, so it now sounds different.

Tom.
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Noise after defrag on HD

Actually your drive should if anything be quieter after defragging as it no longer has to hunt all over the place for the files.
Before you did the defrag there would have been parts of files spread all over the disk which it would have to hunt arround for which needs more mechanical action than if the parts of files have been merged together.

So I am puzzled as to why you now hear more noise :?
N/A

Noise after defrag on HD

Just turn up your hi-fi a bit more so you can't hear these noises Wink
N/A

Noise after defrag on HD

HI John,
Could it be a sign of a possible fault about to occur.
Having listened to the noises, yes there are the normal small little clicks and then sometimes this louder click as the drive is more active doing something.
Now you mention it I would have expected things to be quieter, rather than this louder click occuring.