Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Networking 2 PC's

N/A

Networking 2 PC's

Hi
I hope someone can help
I would like to network 2 PC's one with XP and the other Win 98. What would I need in terms of hardware and software and what are the approx. costs. (The spec for the new PC includes "ethernet 10/100 network onBoard" is this part of what I need?
Would the PC's be able to share the same printer, scanner and broadband connection ?
The PC's are right next to each other so I am not thinking of a wireless set up.

Dave
7 REPLIES
N/A

Networking 2 PC's

Hiya,

I'm no expert but here's my take:

1. Ethernet card (whether on board or otherwise - makes no odds) on new PC - Good. That's what you need.
2. You also need an Ethernet card on your old box as well. For this you'll should probably go out an buy a PCI Ethernet card from your local PC World or whatever and stick it in and install the drivers. The card should be pretty cheap - under 20 quid and maybe come with a cable as well.
3. Would the PC's be able to share the same printer, scanner and broadband connection? Yep - that's the point isn't it?
4. How do you set it up? - That's where I fall down. Basically I think I'm fine on networking Win 2K stuff but have ever tried a Win 98 /XP combo. And here's a suggestion - why are you bothering with Win 98 anyway? Upgrade the operating system on the old box and make your life easier and make the networking easier too.

Regards
Alex
N/A

Networking 2 PC's

Hi,

Yes you can share files, printing and your Internet connection. I can't say I have every tried sharing a scanner.

For this recipe you will need an Ethernet card for both machines. If the old machine doesn't have one, then they're usually inexpensive (as Alex said).

If you are only connecting the two machines, and have no plans for expansion, then you will need a cross-over Ethernet cable to go between the two Ethernet cards. (please note, this is not a normal Ethernet cable!).