cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Network novice

morgan2476
Grafter
Posts: 279
Registered: 13-08-2007

Network novice

I have been trying for some time to set up a network between my pc and laptop. All the connections are ok but when i go through the wizard i get the following message in the notification are "limmited or no connectivity" Neither of them recognise the other. I have turned of the firewalls. All i want to do is share files between them both.
8 REPLIES
Denzil
Grafter
Posts: 1,733
Registered: 31-07-2007

Network novice

This sounds like it might be a connection issue. I think we need to know how it is plugged together.

How is it set up physically? Are you using wireless? Do you have the two PC's directly connected or are they connected to a router/switch/hub?

If connected directly, have you used a crossover cable?
morgan2476
Grafter
Posts: 279
Registered: 13-08-2007

Network novice

The connections are ok the connections are fast ethernet connections. i managed to get some of the way by manualy puting in IP addresses on to both machines. This has stopped the "limited or no connectivity warning." All I want to do is transfer files between each machine but i just cannot do this.The wizard does not seem to be working
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Network novice

You haven't answered the important question though.
What is the setup you are using? In order to give you any useful advise we need to know how you are connecting the machines together.
Is it via a hub, a 4 port router or just connecting them via one cable between the 2, or using internet connection sharing etc?Huh
morgan2476
Grafter
Posts: 279
Registered: 13-08-2007

Network novice

Hi It is one cable i can't remember what it is called but it is OK. The connection is between the ethernet socket on the pc and the one on the laptop
Cloudmaster
Grafter
Posts: 257
Registered: 01-08-2007

Network novice

When connecting in this way you shoud be using a crossover cable, are you sure that's what you've got?
N/A

Network novice

We assume you have a cross over cable connecting the 2 pc's. Forget the wizard.
Pc one enter in the network settings for the network card

ip 10.0.0.1 subnet 255.255.255.0 dns 208.67.222.222 and
208.67.220.220

Second pc enter
ip 10.0.0.2 subnet 255.255.255.0 dns 208.67.222.222 and
208.67.220.220

Make sure they are both set to workgroup now from the 1st pc open a cmd prompt(start/run type cmd) type ping 10.0.0.2 and you should get a reply from the second pc if you type ping 10.0.0.1 you should get a reply as well.

Now on pc 1 type net use p: \\10.0.0.2\c$ password on pc 2 /user:username on pc 2

On pc 2 type
net use p: \\10.0.0.1\c$ password on pc 1 /user:username on pc 1

If one pc is connect to the internet via a modem enter the ip of that pc in the other pcs default gateway. So if pc one had a modem on pc 2 set the default gateway to 10.0.0.1

If this doesnt sort it out give us the errors
morgan2476
Grafter
Posts: 279
Registered: 13-08-2007

Network novice

Thanks i will try this once i get home. "crossover" that's the name i was trying to remember.
morgan2476
Grafter
Posts: 279
Registered: 13-08-2007

Network novice

Thanks to all who helped - i managed to get things sorted i needed to disable comodo fire wall and when i restarted it i had to manualy configure it. -Thanks