cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Network cabling in a flat.

N/A

I am going to put up some coving in my flat; concrete floors and dry walling. If I can get a clear drop from ceiling to floor – have bought a device for locating support batons – I can hide some CAT5E cable behind the coving. I am reading up about cables, connectors and associated hardware to find out what I need and what it might cost. A visit to my local Maplin might be worthwhile. One thing I am not sure about is fixing the connector panels to a dry wall; I want them flush. I intend to run two cables from a Gateway box – two gang connector – into two rooms – one gang connector in each. Some advice about best method would be useful.
PS: Shows I am getting old just asking this as I was a craft apprentice on the SEB doing house wiring. Long time ago now.
7 REPLIES
Rich
Grafter

Check out www.screwfix.com for your supplies.
Community Veteran

Flush back box for plasterboard walls;
http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?ModuleNo=1294&doy=23m7

Buy all the connectors from the same range and just wire them same colour to same colour. (If they have two colour codes use "B")

Chilly
N/A

Thanks for the Maplin link. I will call into the Oxford shop when I am down that way. The plasterboard box looks just the job. The Screwfix link is too general to wade through so not really helpful and I would have to order without seeing the items, if there are any suitable, and I don't want to do that in this case. Maplin is the best bet. Incidentally B&Q stock some items but are they expensive!
Community Veteran

I am not sure that you will, if you intent to try, take a boat and waders, as it is on the Boltly road.

Or at least phone them check is open and accessible first.

Chilly

(For anyone reading this in the future we are in the middle of a flooding crises.)
Discostoo
Grafter