cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Network by Firewire Problem.

N/A

Hello everyone. I'm having a little problem with a 2 computer network. I have them networked by firewire. It's built into both motherboards., One is a 4pin connector and one is a 6pin. I found a cable for it and connected them up. I have XP Pro on both comps, so I ran the network wizard on both of them and the network set itself up. It works well for most of the time, but it keeps on coming up with a network cable disconnected error. It does this at random times. At first I thought it might be a hardware fault, dodgy cable or connection, but I have ruled this out. When it occurs, I find an entry in the event log mentioning DCOM and a service that can't be started. I am new to networking by firewire, so I don't know what it's refering to. I would be glad of any help.
Regards to all, JJ Taylor.

EDIT
I should add that I already had a network running on these comps. That was a built in LAN on each comp, which are at present disabled. I had no problem at all with this setup, I tried the firewire because it passes data much faster than the LAN.
Regards, JJ Taylor.

2nd EDIT

Just discovered that the DCOM errors are not connected to the firewire disconnections. Nothing appears in the event log when the firewire shows as disconnected.
Regards, JJ Taylor.
8 REPLIES
N/A

what kind of distance are they apart from one another?
are they both firewire 400?
are you runing any firewalls?
what kind of ips are u using?
N/A

Hello Buzzons. They are 6 feet apart, both 400, what's an ip ? Firewall is Zone Alarm Pro 4.5 or thereabouts, don't have a problem with that. If I reboot either computer, or unplug and then replug the connection, it's there right away. I'm thinking along the lines of a pci card, audio or modem, could be causing the problem.
Regards, JJ Taylor.
N/A

check in your device manager to see if there are any parts causing a problem?
N/A