cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netgear Router & Norton Firewall

N/A

Netgear Router & Norton Firewall

My netgear router worked first time out of the box and came supplied with its own firewall software. So I would disable other firewalls before installation.
7 REPLIES
mitchell20
Grafter

Netgear DG834G

Broadband newbie here - Signed up to PlusNet just waiting for my RFS Date (11th Feb 2004) Cheesy

I have already bought a NetGear DG834G ADSL router as I will be connecting 2 wired networked PC's and a wireless lap-top - when it comes to connecting it in mid-Feb, should I first un-install Norton Internet Security 2003 :?: (I currently have this configured to protect my current dial-up account)
Community Veteran

Netgear DG834G

You should not have to disable NIS to get the router working and the more protection you have the better. It may need a tweak or two to get things properly locked down.

In any case the netgear will only protect incoming connection attempts (It has NAT not a proper firewall) and it will not protect you from virii / trojans on your PC that try to make a connection out of your PCs which NIS will do (if properly cofigured).

So keep NIS running on your PC. You might still need it if you need to revert back to dialup if your ADSL fails fo some reason.
N/A

Netgear DG834G

I agree that probably it won't hurt to keep the software (probably....), but as a (so far) happy user of the 834G myself, I'm curious what you mean about it not having a "proper Firewall"?

I can configure it to block (Firewall?) sites. I can configure it to block specific inbound or outbound ports or serviices. So what features prevent it being considered a firewall.

Note, I'm genuinely interested here, not breaking your balls - I'm not running software security on PCs on the inside the NetGear firewall beyond McAfee Anti Virus. So what protection am I missing out on?
Community Veteran

Netgear DG834G