cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netgear DG834 - a couple of questions.

N/A

Hi

I recently bought the Netgear DG834 v2 and overall I'm pleased with it.However I don't know if it's just me but it doesn't seem to multi-task very well! e.g. if I download a torrent browsing become near impossible and getting e-mail IS impossible.The same applies with any combo of protocols,it can do one at a time brilliantly but two things no-way.(it doesn't matter how much bandwidth is being used -or not used- it still slows one or the other)
As I'm a complete router novice I know it could well be my ignorance but I can't seem to find an idiots guide to this router.

Finally,port forwarding - do I need to do this?Everything seems to work quite happily without it e.g. Playstation is fine p2p and torrents also,apart from previously mentioned prob.Although I did forward ports for utorrent to see if this helped with multtasking (it doesn't)

Thanks,

Rob
9 REPLIES
avalon
Grafter

Are you limiting your torrent upload speed? If not you should limit it to around a total of 22k. If you don't then your up connection will be swamped by the torrent and won't be able to send out page requests etc very quickly, so obviously you won't get them delivered quickly.
N/A

I've got the same router as you. I find it can multitask quite well actually, it can certainly download torrents while at the same time allowing you to browse/get email (unless you're maxing out your bandwidth like the poster above suggested). I download torrents while browsing and getting email all the time, every few days at least, and I have done for years...