cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multi-region DVD player

RobDickson
Grafter
Posts: 632
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-08-2007

Multi-region DVD player

I recently bought an Emprex DVD player/writer. I was assured that this is a multi-region DVD player. However, when I tried to play a DVD, I was asked to select what region to use, and told that I could only make this selection 5 more times. As I have a selection of American and European DVDs, I will soon select the region 5 times.

Obviously, I will be complaining to the company that sold me the DVD drive, but I just want to know:

1) Is it possible to (legally) by-pass this selection and select multi-region (it's not a menu option - there's no region 0)? I assume that this is probably illegal.

2) Can anybody recommend a DVD player/writer that they know to be multi-region?
20 REPLIES
N/A

Multi-region DVD player

Not heard of Emprex before. Most players have hacks now adays in one form or another.
Try looking at http://www.videohelp.com

Your make is not listed but it may be another maker but re-badged
RobDickson
Grafter
Posts: 632
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-08-2007

Multi-region DVD player

http://www.emprex.co.uk/

I've only ever seen hacks for stand-alone DVD players, rather than those for PCs. I'll have a look and see what I can find.
N/A

Multi-region DVD player

Just had a look at the Emprex site and nowhere on it's dvd selection does it mention multiregion. Your best course of action is tto take it back to where you bought it and get a refund.
RobDickson
Grafter
Posts: 632
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-08-2007

Multi-region DVD player

I had a quick look at its site last night, and couldn't find any reference to multi-region either. Multi-region DVD drives seem hard to come by.

I actually bought it a few months ago, and have only just got around to installing it. I might have problems getting a refund.

Two questions:

1) If I do manage to get a refund, can anybody recommend a multi-region DVD player suitable to put into a PC?

2) If I don't manage to get a refund, I could always get a 2nd DVD-ROM drive and have one European drive and one US drive (DVD ROM drives only cost about £15). Is this likely to cause compatability problems?
N/A

Multi-region DVD player

Quote

2) If I don't manage to get a refund, I could always get a 2nd DVD-ROM drive and have one European drive and one US drive (DVD ROM drives only cost about £15). Is this likely to cause compatability problems?


No, but make sure they are both on the same IDE channel (i.e. they are both plugged into the same IDE cable), rather than having a HDD and one DVD-ROM sharing the same channel and the other DVD-ROM on the other.
N/A

Multi-region DVD player

Assume this is an internal PC DVD reader /writer. What model is it as emprex drives tend to be re-badged BTC makes. Take a look at the firmware page which tells you how you can patch certain models to be region free.
http://www.firmware.fr.st/
RobDickson
Grafter
Posts: 632
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-08-2007

Multi-region DVD player

It's an IDE1008. I'll have a look and see what I can find, although updating the firmware from somebody other than the manufacturer sounds scary to me.

Has anybody tried http://www.dvdidle.com/dvd-region-free.htm? It doesn't sound bad for just over £20.
N/A

Multi-region DVD player

The software fixes work Ok, I have that program but dont really use it too much but it does work well.

Have done fimware fixes before using details from the site and had no problems.

Just for further into your drive is defintely a BTC manufactured model and details can be found on the manufacturers web site http://www.btc.com.tw/english/2-2-dvd_rw.htm#drw1008im
N/A

Multi-region DVD player

DVD Region Killer software is also very good.. Link to it can be found on the firmware page mentioned earlier. This software is free as well.

Link to it at - http://pioneerdvd.rpc1.org/DVD%20region%20killer%20v2.7.0.2.exe
RobDickson
Grafter
Posts: 632
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-08-2007

Multi-region DVD player

It looks like it's got a firmware upgrade to convert it to RPC-1 (http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_firmware.php?download_id=1774).

However, having read http://forum.rpc1.org/viewtopic.php?t=239, it seems that removing the region control from the DVD player is only half the job - Windows or the software that I'm using to view DVDs will also try to block the "wrong" type of DVDs.

I had no idea that I had so much to learn. I don't even know how to update the firmware - are instructions included in the ZIP files? I've updated the firmware once, but using a program supplied by the manufacturer to download from its own website.

I think I'll try the Region Killer software - it sounds much easier for a novice like me.
holdtight
Grafter
Posts: 1,634
Registered: 15-06-2007

Multi-region DVD player

If it is the 1008 then it is a rebadged BTC, you can download a piece
of software that when run will auto detect any firmware updates and
install for you, you can download it from here www.drvupdate.com

just be sure that when its updating you dont do anything with
your system especially turn it off or you will have a dead DVD
RobDickson
Grafter
Posts: 632
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-08-2007

Multi-region DVD player

I've already downloaded the firmware using the LiveUpdate tool on this website, but it hasn't made the DVD player multi-region. I assume that the firmware updates that make a DVD player multi-region are produced by somebody other than the manufacturer, and the LiveUpdate program will not help.

Thanks again for all your help, I'm sure that I'll be posting more questions later.
RobDickson
Grafter
Posts: 632
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-08-2007

Multi-region DVD player

I've found the firmware update ZIP file, but I can't find any details about how to actually update the firmware.

Is it as simple as running the .EXE file that's in the ZIP file, or do I need to download a new program as well?

Sorry to ask what is probably such a simple question.
N/A

Multi-region DVD player

What's the .exe file called?

I just downloaded a zip from http://tdb.rpc1.org/#DRW1008IM
and it contains five files, including IDEFLASH.exe

There looks to be a number of firmware versions available for this drive. I would make sure you have one suitable for your drive first.

Take a look at http://forum.rpc1.org/portal.php for discussions about flashing