Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MS Access on linux

jabb0
Grafter

MS Access on linux

Ok,
I have absolutely no need for this... however my bro's school is using MS access to do an A-level project on, and although it will not kill him not having MS Access at home, it will mean he will have to complete the all of the project on the school compos.

Now I dont agree with the whole MS in schools thing, hell knows i kicked up a bg enough fuss when they made me use MS, but lets save that for another time guys.

I know it is possible via several methods to get MS Access data onto linux based databases, but i am computery kinda guy and while I prolly could get the job done - it wouldnt suffice his needs.

He is gonna need something pretty straightforward, like import and export buttons that do everything for him...
Now i am new to linux, and have looked up a few methods, but none seem that simple.

Would you know of such an aplication?

I could setup openoffice, to do the job, but i dont know if it will fulfill his needs....
8 REPLIES
jabb0
Grafter

MS Access on linux

Cedega.
If it plays Win games, its bound to play office software too.

But can anyone confirm this, before i either shell out dosh for this, or have a go at compiling the source (just for laff)
holdtight
Grafter

MS Access on linux

Imho you should save yourself any hassles and just use openoffice as you suggested

it does everything your brother would need and more, the difference with ms office are the more advanced features which unless you work in an office you wont need anyway

ive got both installed (not on the same systems) and the differences are negligable and although i run linux im not clear about installing ms on it as ive not tried (have put it on a mac though) but with openoffice you wont have any probs with and best of all its free
jabb0
Grafter

MS Access on linux

Yeah, but can MS ACCESS files be opened and edited by Openoffice - if so then happy days.