cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linux

N/A

Linux

I have a 1.2GHz Windows Me computer with an AMD processor, 80 and 40gb hard disks, and a Speedtouch 330 USB BB modem. I'm on PAYGO 500.

I'm planning to dual boot my computer with Linux with the hope of ditching Microsoft altogether in due course, but haven't yet decided on Ubuntu, Linspire, Xandros, Suse or Mandriva.

Any pitfalls with Metronet Broadband? Anyone any experience of configuring a Speedtouch for Linux, or thoughts on relative merits of the distributions I have shortlisted, please? I am only moderately computer- literate, but can follow instructions as long as they don't assume too much! I'm a complete newbie with Linux, but have done some reading.

Hardware support, ease of setup and of access to Windows folders and ease of incorporation of Crossover Office or Wine is important, and range and ease of installation of software are also important. I want a tool, not a toy: I'm prepared for some pain and effort in making this move, but will want to just get on and use it once I'm set up.

Thanks in advance, John Kemp
15 REPLIES
N/A

Linux

Hi John,

Welcome to the forums.

I'll start by saying that I am a disciple of Microsoft and as such my *nix experience is limited and extends to setting up Debian on an old system we had, a few months back.

The install went well and the system runs like a dream, there did seem to be a wealth of help out there for Debian.

In answer to your queries, your Metronet product will sit perfectly with which ever flavour of Linux you chose. My personal preference would be to use a router as opposed to a USB modem. A, it is miles better and B, it is far less problematic to set up and configure.

I have only used OpenOffice with Debian and found little or no difficulties working with or opening MS Office files.

As I said, I am no expert, but I hope that helps in some way.
N/A

Linux

Many thanks, Mark. Food for thought! Best wishes, John
N/A