cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linux for a complete beginner

LiamM
Grafter

Right, I am completely new to Linux in that I have never installed / used it myself. Our server runs Red Hat at work and all I know how to use that, but to start using it myself at home is seeming a bit daunting. I wan't to have a go however.

a) What is the best version to go for? Ease of use / Compatibility etc..
b) Is it free? (Sorry if thats a silly question)
c) What can or can you not run on Linux, you can't run Windows software I'm guessing?
d) How easy is it going to be to get online / firewalled with my Netgear router?

Any advice greatly appreciated!
48 REPLIES
N/A

Re: Linux for a complete beginner

Right, I am completely new to Linux in that I have never installed / used it myself. Our server runs Red Hat at work and all I know how to use that, but to start using it myself at home is seeming a bit daunting. I wan't to have a go however.

a) What is the best version to go for? Ease of use / Compatibility etc..
b) Is it free? (Sorry if thats a silly question)
c) What can or can you not run on Linux, you can't run Windows software I'm guessing?
d) How easy is it going to be to get online / firewalled with my Netgear router?

Any advice greatly appreciated!

a) EEEK: Questions like this can cause wars you know Wink I'd say go with SUSE or Mandrake.

b) Free if you download it

c) You can use wine to run some windows prog's - depends on what you want to run.

d) Simple. Just set the gateway for the linux box to be the router.
LiamM
Grafter

Can you run MSN, or connect to MSN using another prog (e.g. Trillian) using Linux?

I'm downloading Red Hat at the moment and also Gentoo. At least I think I'm downloading the right files, there were so many to choose from.
N/A

1) use gentoo -- it may have a bad stigma for being hard to install but they provide step by step how to on the site so its really easy