cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Like many others - a problem with Netgear DG834

N/A

Hi there. Like some others I have read, I am having real problems with the DG834. I have been through all the reset procedure, firmware upgrade etc. All the lights are on correctly and I am positive that I am using the correct username and password. The only question I have now relates to whether my laptop is recognising the router. In the "My Network Places" area I cannot see Netgear Router listed anywhere. I am not an expert on these things but any help would be appreciated.

thanks
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Fixes: 57

Try putting this in your browser window. It should get you the router
http://192.168.0.1/ and if things haven't changed it is user = admin and password = password
N/A

It doesn't sound as though the router is causing your problem. Presumably you have another PC which does communicate properly with the router, otherwise you wouldn't have been able to update the firmware, etc. Do you have normal internet access through that PC?

You didn't give much information, but I'm assuming that you left the router in its default mode, working as a DHCP server. All you should have to do with the laptop is make sure that's set up to get its IP and DNS addresses by DHCP.

Eric
N/A

Thanks for that. I have been able to get onto the router via the http address and have checked all the settings. The Netgear support staff have been very helpful but have not been able to resolve the problem. Thanks for your help though.
N/A

Roseway - thanks for that. I do not have another PC hence the confusion. I am using an Acer Aspire 2020 notebook and have been able to use that to upgrade the firmware to the router and go through the router set up routine. Intrigued by your suggestion about setting my laptop to get IP and DNS addresses by DHCP - how would I go about that? I am afraid that I am a bit of a newbie so all your help is much appreciated. Thanks.