cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ipod And USB2 Problems

N/A

Ipod And USB2 Problems

Hi Guys
I have bought myself a new 20 Gig ipod and have had to buy from the Apple store a Firefire to USB2 connection, I got the lead today at last and cant get the lead to work properly.
I have a brand new DELL 4600, 3.6Gig chip with 512 Memory can anyone help at all please its Miffing me off big time and I am no computer expert sadly!
Peace
Andrew.
36 REPLIES
N/A

Ipod And USB2 Problems

What's the problem? Does anything happen when you connect the lead to the iPod? Have you installed the software/followed the instructions which came with the iPod?
Community Veteran

Ipod And USB2 Problems

What is the 'Firefire to USB2 connection'. It it a card fitted to your PC or a special cable that goes between your USB port and the iPod's firewire interface port?

Are you sure the iPod can't connect directly to a USB port? i.e. are you sure you needs the firewire to USB connector/cable/PC card?

What windows version are you using?

What version of USB port do you have or are using. There are 2 types, USB 1.1 and USB 2. Maybe you have USB 1.1 and the cable requires USB 2 - check the documentation that came with the cable/card and what type of USB connectors you have in your PCs manual?

When you connect the iPod to your PC do you see anything happen on the iPod or on the PC?

Have you read all the instructions on syncing the iPod with the PC and for any software you need to install on the PC?

Cheers

Peter Cool
N/A

Ipod And USB2 Problems

Good evening All
I have a brand new Dell 4600 computer as I said, I have no fire wire ports or cards installed on the machine, it has 2 USB 2 ports on the front with other at the back.
I had to buy a Firewire to USB 2 lead to connect the ipod to the dock and UBB2 port.
I am running XP and nothing is happening when I connect the lead, I have all the software installed and a Program called MUSICMATCH jukebox is meant to