Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help setting up SUSE 10 for the internet and e-mail needed

collie_doggy

I am a beginner with Linux.
Please can anyone help me.
I have just installed a dual boot with SUSE 10 in addition to XP.
I cannot get on-line yet with the SUSE.
I have a Speedtouch 330 usb modem.
Thanks
James
15 REPLIES
holdtight
Grafter

Re: Help setting up SUSE 10 for the internet and e-mail need

Hi James and welcome
I have a Speedtouch 330 usb modem.

And therein lies your problem as however good linux has or is becoming its ability to deal with usb modems is still very poor

I also run linux on one of my systems but have not had to deal with this problem as i have always used a router and would suggest that you do the same

maybe someone who has had this problem or knows if there is now a fix / driver or a way around it will be able to help you there are many linux users here

Bill.
collie_doggy

I have found some links that seem to say it is certainly possible to use my modem with SUSE 10, but as a complete novice with Linux I don't understand how to follow them.
I do not intend buying a router since my modem is very good thanks and gives much better results on my long line than the Voyager that Plus Net issued me with!
I was hoping that asking on the PlusNet website I would be able to get specific and easy to follow instructions for a newbie like me.
James
Community Veteran

As stated abovem setting up USB modems can be very problematic, especially for a newbie and even an experienced Linux user can have difficulties.

You really do need to invest in an external router if you intend to experiment with Linux as that is by far the most compatible device for both Linux and Windows systems and is very easy to setup on both. It will also be more portable if you decide to try other Linux distros.

USB modem configs on Linux is not the sort of thing you can explain on Forums, especially to a novice.
pacem
Grafter