cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Got all the pc parts but no look starting it up

N/A

Got all the pc parts but no look starting it up

Got all the parts from ebuyer put them all in many of times now and no luck.

Parts i got

Amd 64 3000+
512 ddr400mhz kingston ram
Aus k8v se deluxe motherboard
ati 9550 256mb graphics ( the 128 sold out at the time )
120 gig ata hard drive
Basics case ( which came with a 350 watt psu )

I now the psu works as you can hear it when you turn it on via a switch on the back.
So not to sure what to do next. Any one help
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Got all the pc parts but no look starting it up

A 350W PSU for an AMD64 is not going to be good enough, especially if it's an OEM one.
N/A

Got all the pc parts but no look starting it up

Yeah i no that now thanks for the reply your a really good person for that. I am sending the case back along with the ata hard drive. You said before 450watt psu plus. I am on a budget any surgestions which to go for. Any body send anything back to ebuyer before. Do i send it back or they collect it.

Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Got all the pc parts but no look starting it up

Ebuyer 500w Power Supply Silver With Dual Fans or one of the other colours.

For returns you login to your ebuyer account and follow the returns policy by clicking on the return a product link.
N/A

Got all the pc parts but no look starting it up

Yeah i sent the rma request on them items and hopefully they will be accepted.

I saw this psu and this looks cool but expensive

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?rb=2779541392&action=c2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X3Jldmlld3M=...
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Got all the pc parts but no look starting it up

You said you were on a tight budget so I gave you a budget PSU.

Antec PSUs are very good (these are the only ones I buy) but are expensive. But you do get what you pay for - i.e. the full power rating and rock solid power rails at peak power.
N/A

Got all the pc parts but no look starting it up

Yeah sorry i no i said i was on a budget just thinking of furture purchases. Thanks alot
Brickinit
Grafter
Posts: 450
Registered: 06-08-2007

Got all the pc parts but no look starting it up

did you get any beebs at all? even if the psu was not man enough to run your whole system stablely i would have thought you would have got to the bios or something, are you sure the components where inserted correctly? were any jumpers on the MB set right? got to be worth a look.

malc.

ps. don't forget about STATIC!
the_norris
Grafter
Posts: 463
Registered: 02-08-2007

Got all the pc parts but no look starting it up

Check the BIOS Clear setting jumper - some board are shipped with these in the clear position.

I think this is to save the battery - when in 'clear' position no power is supplied to the CMOS chip - so the setting saved.

To test the mother board with current PSU - dissconnect power to all your drives. (HDD and CD/DVD drives and floppy) So Power is only needed for the MB and Video card.

You may able to then getting to the BIOS - to prove that the MB, CPU and RAM are ok.

Phil
holdtight
Grafter
Posts: 1,634
Registered: 15-06-2007

Got all the pc parts but no look starting it up

Your current PSU might not be man enough to run your system
at a stable rate under load but it is plenty good enough to boot
into windows and run your system

you need to look at other causes which can usually be time
consuming as it is a process of ellimination to find the cause
N/A

Got all the pc parts but no look starting it up

I will look at this soon off to work soon. Thanks for all the advice guys