Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Copying DVDs

shermans
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Copying DVDs

I am a complete novice when it comes to DVDs - they just do not normally interest me, and I am not into television.

However, I have just been lent a fascinating wild life documentary (shrink-wrapped) which I would like to copy - it is not available in the shops. But I do not know how to do that. Can anyone advise ?

I do not have a DVD player EXCEPT on my desktop PC and another on my laptop, which is where I played the DVD. So I cannot use a stand-alone DVD player / recorder to do the job, but just want to use either one or both of my computers to make the ciopy onto a blank DVD. I doubt if it as straightforeward as copying CDs which I do regularly.

If you can help, thanks.
7 REPLIES
Midville
Grafter

Copying DVDs

There are the copyright issues, associated with copying DVD and CD etc. However if you have a look here http://www.doom9.org/ I am sure it will explain in some detail, you might have to download some software also. Might be wise to look over the disclaimer too.
Community Veteran

Copying DVDs

I recommend DVD Decrypter, Further details and links are on doom9.

I use it for copying home DVD's and it will also rip and burn DVD sized "iso".

Chilly
N/A

Copying DVDs

It depends how big the dvd is a lot of films are 8 gig and you cant copy a 8 gig dvd to a 4 gig dvd as it wont go. So you have to shrink it to 4 gig before it will fit you can get dvd shrink which is free software from

http://www.dvdshrink.org/what.html

If the dvd is only 4 gig then it should just copy from dvd to dvd like you would do if you were coping a cd
N/A

Copying DVDs

I think the comment
If the dvd is only 4 gig then it should just copy from dvd to dvd like you would do if you were coping a cd