Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can anyone dig me out of this hole?!!!

chrisco
Grafter

Hi All,

In the process of uninstalling my HP printer I thought I'd deleted some temp files in error, I've attempted to undo the change to my machine using XP System Restore, that was ok but then I decided I had rolled back too far but can't now undo that change & opt for another date to roll back to. My question is this:

a) Does anyone have any idea why this has happened & is there a way of correcting this.

b) If I have to resort to using the restore disk that came with my machine, (I understand this will wipe the hard drive 'cause it says it will), will I lose everybodys e-mails & in the case of the other 3 users all their E-bay files ( I won't live to tell the tale!!) or are these stored differently.

I hope someone can help & make my Friday as all the other days this week have been what birds do on clean washing!! Cry

Regards, Chris
11 REPLIES
N/A

Hi,

I'm no expert but when you use the system restore facility there are three options.

1. Will let you restore the system without deleting any programs or files.
2. Restores but deletes your programs and copies your files to a separate directory.
3. Formats the drive.

Hope this helps.
N/A

the restore disk that came with your machine will in most cases hose everything on your system so beware.
There are a couple of manufactures that give options to just restore a specific program or just the os without wiping but in my experience this is rare...
Alecto
Grafter

Have you tried every possible combination in System Resore of undoing the restore, or going back to different points?
If System Restore is broken, then it will probably have taken some other functions with it and I assume your computer is not in a usable state, so reloading Windows from your CD is probably the sensible thing to do.