cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband sharing with a Draytec Vigor

N/A

Hello!

This is my first post so if it doesn't look right please forgive me...

I'm an absolute computer novice but have been using the same Plus account for three years now and can honestly not fault it. Since I first got broadband I have been running numerous computers WiFi style (with a Draytec Vigor 2600We) and although that worked for the internet sharing using WiFi client hardware (Linksys cards and others) the connection was unstable and when using games like BF2 or Half-Life (back when I first got the broadband I was still playing CS until they did that stupid STEAM thing) I would get a connection problem about every two minutes causing my game to loose connection. Strangly, by using ALT+TAB to switch back to the desktop and then clicking the desktop and then switching back this would save the game from disconnecting but I would be dead and this stopped me from flying anything!!

Anyhow I've since decided to use a network cable to connect my machine to the router and that has solved an infinate amount of problems however when I got more cable to connect another machine it won't let both machines connect. The first machine in the house to be switched on works fine however any subsequent connections give an error stating an IP conflict...

I assume this is a simple thing but I am a novice as already stated so I'd be chuffed if somone could help me out in plain English!!

Cheers for reading, hope somone can help me!!!!

Rich
7 REPLIES
N/A

Can you do start -> run -> ipconfig on all machines and post here what you get back from each one.
N/A