Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backing up Windows XP System

shermans
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

I have been using Windows XP for about six months, and seem to have got to grips with most of it, but I am really stuck with how best to back up the system itself (as opposed to the data with which I have no problem).

I was very a power user with Windows 98, and I had two hard drives on my old pc. The second hard drive had a mirrored system from which I could boot if I ever had a disaster. In all the years I used it, I was hit twice by a serious virus but was back up and running within fifteen minutes by booting from the second drive.

Under 98, I made a regular habit of using MSBACKUP to make a full copy of the Windows and Program Files folders, including of course the Windows registry. I would then use RESTORE to save a copy of the Windows system and Program Files to the second hard drive. (All data files were separately backed up onto CDs).

In the rare event of a problem, all I had to do was to reset the BIOS to boot off the second drive, fire up the second drive, reformat the first hard drive Windows partition (data files were on a separate partition), and then use RESTORE to restore the backed up Windows system and Program Files to the first hard disk. Then I was back in business. It could not have been easier.

I want to do the same with XP's NTBACKUP. However, I am at a loss to understand what Automatic System Restore is all about, because evidently ASR does not work on Windows XP Home Edition. I have loaded successfully the NTBACKUP program itself onto the frist hard drive in my new computer