cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Accessing my home LAN externally via a Netgear DG834GT

N/A

I'm pretty new to network configuration so apologies if any of the following sounds dumb!

Have a small local network (3 hardwired PCs) connected up via a DG834GT at home. They're either running XP Home or Pro.

Network is working fine based on default settings of the router. ADSL access also working fine. I haven't changed any of the default settings (e.g. machines are getting IP address automatically as is the router).

I would like to get external access into the LAN (e.g. to FTP, or even remote access the machines e.g via VNC).

a) Firstly, is this advisable i.e. security wise?
b) is it possible with this router?
c) If so can you point me in the direction of how to set up the router/machines to do this. What's the advantage of having the router and/or the machines having static IP addresses - do I actually need that?

At the moment I can't even ping my PlusNet IP address externally - it just gives "Request Timed Out".

I'm a bit stuck really and don't know where to begin.

Many thanks
9 REPLIES
N/A

Re: Accessing my home LAN externally via a Netgear DG834GT

a) Firstly, is this advisable i.e. security wise?

Depends on what value you place on the data inside your lan, what package(s) you're using and if you can use a static ip address to access your home lan.

b) is it possible with this router?

Yes, and fairly easy to setup.

c) If so can you point me in the direction of how to set up the router/machines to do this. What's the advantage of having the router and/or the machines having static IP addresses - do I actually need that?

It really depends on what you want to do...

Static addresses on the internal side of the network will make it easier to setup the port forwarding rules... so for the machine you wish to receive incomming traffic allocate it a static IP address in the same subnet as the DHCP addresses...