cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

About the micro filters and fixing adsl connection

N/A

I'm a newbie and only got my adsl package yesterday, I'm over the moon with the speed and everything but I currently have my PC in my bedroom and its about 20 metres away from the living room BT box socket we do have another phone in the hall which is like 12 metres away from my bedroom and its where I run a extention phone cable to plug in my old dial up modem and where I've plugged in one of the micro filters to get my Binatone Broadband modem plugged in.

Could someone please tell me how I would go about using the micro filters properly. Would I need a extension phone cable to plug into my modem and run it to the hall and use the filter there to split the line or would it need to extend to the BT box and use the filter there.

Sorry for being abit thick here but rather stuck to know what to do.

Phil
9 REPLIES
N/A

Filters are only needed for phones as adsl modems dont need the filter(assuming you have the right connecter) You only need to plug in the filters were you have a phone. Rember if you plug a filter in and run an extention then the line will be filtered so you cant use adsl on the extention but you can use a 56k modem.

So if you want to use the hall socket and have adsl and a phone in the bedroom you would plug the extention directly into the hall(no filter) and in the bedroom put the filter and plug the modem and phone in there.

If the filter is in the hall and you plug the extention for the bedroom you could only use a 56k modem and phone as the adsl would be filtered. Hope thats clear.
Community Veteran

See ADSL: Wiring and Filters for correct use of the ADSL filter/splitter.
N/A

Sorry still confused

Hi

Sorry still a little confused, we have a phone in the livingroom and one in the hall.

on the living room BT socket box we have the hall extension plug, the sky digital phone cable and the room phone plugged in.