cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ATI Radeon 9600pro & DOOM III

N/A

ATI Radeon 9600pro & DOOM III

Hi,


I had some posts going on here quite afew days ago about this graphics card, well i dumped my fx5600ultra 128mb, for a ATI radeon 9600pro 128mb, i'm trying to run doom III with it but its quite slow? stutering etc, i didn't expect this with the card, i didn't get chance to try my ex fx5600ultra with doom III as i never had the game Sad so i cant tell performance between the two, i can still get back my fx card as i only sold it to a mate, should i do this? should this ati 9600 card run the game smoothly or not? is it capable :?


Thanks...
14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

ATI Radeon 9600pro & DOOM III

The R9600pro is faster than the FX5600U so I suspect trying your old card will actually mean the game runs even slower.

Doom is very graphics and processor intensive so maybe even the R9600pro is not quite up to the job.

What is the rest of your PC spec? Maybe you don't have a fast enough processor or enough ram.
N/A

ATI Radeon 9600pro & DOOM III

Hi David,

As said before in your other posts you should have waited and saved for nothing less than a 9800pro for todays games.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,181
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

ATI Radeon 9600pro & DOOM III

Graphics cards arent the whole story for new games, especially the Next Generation games like Doom3 / HalfLife 2 / Farcry, they need a PC that is running 100%.

So unless you have:


  • a good CPU
  • decent amount of ram - 512 minimum now ideally 1 gig
  • good sound card
  • Good Video card
  • windows running smootly


No next generation game will run well
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
N/A

ATI Radeon 9600pro & DOOM III

Yeah i mean i got the ati 9800 pro and i ran doom 3 it looks good but only as medium settings with the resolution at 1024 768. But u can see some lagin in areas. I have orded my 1 gig ram which is here 2moro i belive after finding a ram maker which works on my board. Ltr in the year a new cpu will be in order

Current specs are

2100 amd xp cpu
512 ddr 2100 ram
ati 9800 pro
60 gig hard drive
450watt psu for the monster graphics card.
N/A

ATI Radeon 9600pro & DOOM III

ur CPU is a ikkle bit slow :p and ur ram is VERY slow Sad .. maybe think of upgrading ur motherboard to a new one :p
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

ATI Radeon 9600pro & DOOM III

He already has from his other threads, and ram is on order, so the only thing left is a faster processor . Wink
N/A

ATI Radeon 9600pro & DOOM III

Thanks for the replys, people say that the R9600 is faster than the fx5600ultra but the ultra has a GPU of 400mhz and a memory clock of 800mhz, the R960pro has GPU 400mhz memory clock 600mhz, the GPU may not even be that fast :? my system specs are....


AMD Athlon 1800mhz
256Mb PC2100
R9600pro

I think these are the most important things so will not post other hardware.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,181
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

ATI Radeon 9600pro & DOOM III

Well same problem as extreme, your pc isnt up to the job. Video cards need a good pc to keep it running at full speed, simply your CPU and ram are too slow to keep up with it, so it runs at a slower speed dictated by your CPU and ram.

For a 9600pro to run at full speed you would need XP2200+/ 512 DDR 2700, but faster the better. But wouldn't recommend you bother upgrading your current pc, but wait until you can afford to build a new one as in the end it will be faster and cost less than doing stop gap tweak buying. You cant make a Fiesta in to a Ferrari.
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

ATI Radeon 9600pro & DOOM III

A faster GPU/memory clock does not mean it will be faster at processing graphics. It's primarily down to what the GPU can do in hardware and it's rendering performance. Just like a pentium 3 running at 1GHz is actually faster than a Pentium 4 running at 1.5GHz for most things.

You can't judge a cards performance by the clock speed, it's the GPU architecture that is the key factor.
N/A

ATI Radeon 9600pro & DOOM III

adp450, i got to disagree with you, my pc motherboard is capable of taken a amd athlon 2600+ and memory upto 2gig, so if i upgrade it to a 2400+ AMD AthlonXP and stick another 256 in it or maybe upgrade it too 1Gb it will be fine.


My 2 pence worth... Smiley
N/A

ATI Radeon 9600pro & DOOM III

Buzzons u said u need to upgrade your board. I have i inteed to get a new cpu ltr in da year. And 2moro i get my 1 gig ram two 512 ddr 400mhz yeah fool
N/A

ATI Radeon 9600pro & DOOM III

David,

I have to agree with adp450. You say your board supports upto a 2600+ even these processers arent much cop these days.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,181
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

ATI Radeon 9600pro & DOOM III

david when it comes down to it, it is You that's spending the money. That would be my personal choice in your case. Which is what I am planning on once there are Nforce or VIA chipset mother boards for AMD's with PCI-E slots.
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
N/A

ATI Radeon 9600pro & DOOM III

If you decide you require a new motherboard becareull on what to get some are pickey. I have an asus one. There good but you will need to spend 50 quid upwards. My ram has come 1 gig people 1 gig yeah