cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

who killed the speed

N/A

who killed the speed

I have been using PTH-AG3 for the last couple of days and the speed has been excellent constant 2mbs very happy bunny. With the maintenance on it last night and as I feared when the router finaly connected I cannot get any decent speeds.Sad

Have not got time this morning, as I am off to work now, to do a thorough speed review with BT speedtest but here is what I have done so far.

BT speedtest 1634Kbs
Reconnect to PN: PTN-AG1 489.80
reboot back on PTN-AG1 528.5
BT Speedtest: 1794Kbs
Reconnect to PN: PTH-AG3 574.4



is this due to load balancing or something more worrying? Sad
7 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) _CN_
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 385
Registered: 11-06-2007

who killed the speed

Hi

have you recently had a speed upgrade?
N/A

who killed the speed

Hi Carl

Yes I had a upgrade at the weekend. I phoned CS on Sunday to say that my line had been changed so that my account could be reset for it which they did for me.

I have just done another BT speedtest: 1861Kbs
when I rejoined PN had a speedtest of 309.7 :shock: is this a record :lol:

I have just put in a ticket 16398959
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,181
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

who killed the speed

a picture to explain Dont Trust speed tests there Not accurate



top half is a linux iso download running with flashget from ftp://ftp.mirror.ac.uk/sites/fedora.redhat.com/1/i386/iso/

Bottom half is you guessed it a speed test using PN's with no other apps running stealing any bandwidth.
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
Plusnet Alumni (retired) _CN_
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 385
Registered: 11-06-2007

who killed the speed

Hi imanners

when you got the 2Mbps speed you were on PTH-AG3 did you run speed tests while on the other gateways i.e. ptn-ag1/2 and if so what were the results?
N/A

who killed the speed

Hi Carl,

Yes I did get onto other gateways and they all gave poor results except PTH-AG3 until this morning. This is the info I posted on Monday

Speed tests over weekend when it stayed stable: unknown gateway
17-04-2005 18:08:50 1705.4
16-04-2005 22:15:56 1837.3
16-04-2005 18:10:10 1816.1
16-04-2005 17:32:51 1861.3

After noticed speed drop: on gateway ptn-ag1
18-04-2005 20:07:08 481.3
18-04-2005 20:05:46 486
Tracert :
1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms ***.***.***.***
2 18 ms 18 ms 18 ms lo0-plusnet.ptn-ag1.plus.net [195.166.128.123]
3 19 ms 18 ms 18 ms ge0-0-0-901.ptn-gw2.plus.net [212.159.1.148]
4 18 ms 17 ms 17 ms gi4-0-22.pth-gw1.plus.net [195.166.129.209]
5 19 ms 23 ms 18 ms rt-lonap-a.thdo.bbc.co.uk [193.203.5.90]
6 18 ms 18 ms 18 ms 212.58.238.129
7 19 ms 18 ms 17 ms www23.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.123]

Router reboot: on gateway pth-ag3
18-04-2005 20:29:24 1402.1
18-04-2005 20:27:41 1087.3
18-04-2005 20:16:06 1400
tracert:1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms ***.***.***.***
2 19 ms 18 ms 17 ms lo0-plusnet.pth-ag3.plus.net [195.166.128.64]
3 17 ms 17 ms 17 ms gi1-2.802.pth-gw4.plus.net [84.92.2.14]
4 18 ms 17 ms 17 ms gi5-0-23.pth-gw1.plus.net [195.166.129.221]
5 17 ms 17 ms 18 ms rt-lonap-a.thdo.bbc.co.uk [193.203.5.90]
6 18 ms 17 ms 17 ms 212.58.238.129
7 19 ms 18 ms 17 ms www41.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.86]

Router reboot: on gateway pth-ag2
Speed test
18-04-2005 20:38:04 396.3
18-04-2005 20:31:30 387.7

Tracert:
1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms ***.***.***.***
2 20 ms 19 ms 19 ms lo1.plusnet.pth-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.6]
3 18 ms 18 ms 18 ms gi1-2.801.pth-gw3.plus.net [84.92.2.6]
4 20 ms 17 ms 17 ms gi5-0-23.pth-gw1.plus.net [195.166.129.221]
5 18 ms 19 ms 17 ms rt-lonap-a.thdo.bbc.co.uk [193.203.5.90]
6 20 ms 19 ms 18 ms 212.58.238.153
7 20 ms 20 ms 20 ms www26.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.126]

it can be found herehttp://portal.plus.net/central/forums/viewtopic.php?t=27326

On Monday evening I tried 2 BT test which where all fine and 3 reconnects to PN and ended up each time on PTH-AG3 and all speed results were all fine. Deciding not to tempt fate anymore I left it there and have recieved excellent speeds until this morning.

adp450 trust me I dont a speed test however accurate it is to know how slow my conn is running.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) _CN_
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 385
Registered: 11-06-2007

who killed the speed

Hi imanners

your upgrade means you are able to achieve speeds of up to 2Mbps but your account is provisioned at a lower speed. PTH-AG3 had a defect where speed profiles were not being applied correctly i.e. a 1Mbps speed profile did not shape you down to 1Mbps. This defect was resolved this morning when we upgraded PTH-AG3 to the latest release containing our fix. You will need CS to change your account details to have the 2Mbps speed profile applied. Hope this helps and explains why you have seen the different speeds.
N/A

who killed the speed

ROFL getting good speed because of a buggy software has to be a first. :lol:

Many thanks Carl
I have just phoned CS who said that I was set at 512 :shock:
When I called on Sunday looks like CS messed it up then. Just reset me now and getting the expected speeds from PTN_AG1 Cheesy