cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

speedPC/Mac

camus
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 09-08-2007

speedPC/Mac

Advice please
My speed has dropped to 2meg or less at times since connecting a new HP Pavilion, thinking line problems I reported it(all ok)Connected an iMac and speed increased to 6 on a good day router is Netgear DG834g v2.(networked wired)cables checked, swapped,port swap, returned to origonal ports.
I suspect my net card (integrated)how can I test?I tried fitting another nic (disable motherboard nic) not accepted,all returned to origonal settings.
Run with firewall ant anti-virus off,no change.
Easy answer use mac,but not always possible.
regards
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

speedPC/Mac

have you run full scans on your HP system for viruses / spyware?
camus
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 09-08-2007

speedPC/Mac

Quote
have you run full scans on your HP system for viruses / spyware?

Checked with Ad-aware
Spycatcher
AVG free
All showing clean
All drivers updated
Windows updated
Line check BT to-day giving speed of 3.7. Suppose speed would increase if I only used Mac for 3 days, then back to usual, although I understood the speed related to the router and not machine specific,thats why I suspected the nic .
regards
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,339
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

speedPC/Mac

Is the MTU in your router 1500? If not give that a go.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
chrisc
Grafter
Posts: 688
Registered: 19-04-2007

speedPC/Mac

Can you complete a BT Speed Test? This will show both your line profile and your sync rate and may shed further light on the problem.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,339
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

speedPC/Mac

Err...

How would a low IP Profile slow down a PC but not slow down a MAC on the same connection?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
chrisc
Grafter
Posts: 688
Registered: 19-04-2007

speedPC/Mac

My bad Shockedops:

I misread the question!

Have a look at this link for some tweaks that may improve the speeds.
camus
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 09-08-2007

speedPC/Mac

Quote
Can you complete a BT Speed Test? This will show both your line profile and your sync rate and may shed further light on the problem.


Line test from BT today ,
Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
IP profile for your line is - 7150 kbps
DSL connection rate: 448 kbps(UP-STREAM) 8128 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 3753 kbps

MTU is 1500
Line attenuation
D/stream 32db u/stream 9db
noise marg. 6db 25db

thanks for the interest shown.
camus
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 09-08-2007

speedPC/Mac

Quote
My bad Shockedops:

I misread the question!

Have a look at this link for some tweaks that may improve the speeds.

You are a very very nice man.
Did as you asked....results
Router mtu 1500 unchanged
ran prog saved result as 1450
Plusnet speed 3.25 happy puppy
speedtest.net choose london server 6.3 wet puppy
return retest plusnet 4.95 damp but v/happy
many thanks
What will I do if it goes above 6...........