cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"upgrading your line"

ady
Grafter
Posts: 289
Registered: 25-09-2007

"upgrading your line"

so a few months ago they apprently upgraded the lines

my stable 1.1mbs connection changed up/down and peaked fine at 1.5mbs which i would be fine with

but now it has stopped at around 0.7 or something giving me 450kb/s 58kbs download etc

this can barely hold a skype conversation + play warcraft 3 -.-

why has it gone down ? considering my next door neighbour is still on 1.1mb connex...id rather have my 1.1 back -.-


ps. i no i have mixed up kb/s mb/s etc lol so bare with me

ady.
13 REPLIES
ady
Grafter
Posts: 289
Registered: 25-09-2007

"upgrading your line"

*bump*

so should my speed be alot faster or what ? am i surpose to enable something ?

ady.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

"upgrading your line"

Hi,

There could be a number of reasons for this. The way DSLMax works is that the sync speed adapts to the fastest stable speed it thinks the line can support. That speed is determined by a number of factors, one the most common reason being the setup of the wiring and filters. I'd suggest having a read through this to see if anything helps:

http://usertools.plus.net/tutorials/id/13

If not then depending on exactly what speed it syncs at and what BT have calculated the Maximum Stable Rate for your line to be (and therefore the Fault Threshold Rate) we can raise this as a fault.

I'd say, check through the page above and if the sync stays the same, raise it via the automated fault checker and we can look into it.
ady
Grafter
Posts: 289
Registered: 25-09-2007

"upgrading your line"

i actually cut a hole through the wall so we dont use a line extension, this barely increased it, however it went up by 50kb/s on that first change.
but now speeds still vary from anything from 500kb to 900kb
but downloads more or less stay same at 58kb/s
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

"upgrading your line"

I've just checked the BT details and the fault threshold rate for your line is 403kbps. That means that to raise a fault on sync speed it needs to drop below this rate.

So long as the sync rate stays above 576kbps then the throughput will stay around the speed you are seeing, to increase the throughput the sync needs to go above 1152kbps (as BT only increase the throughput speeds in 0.5Mbps steps).

Does your router/modem display the line stats?
ady
Grafter
Posts: 289
Registered: 25-09-2007

"upgrading your line"

sorry what ? Cheesy

i dont think so o.O

im using a modem -

bt voyager 105

all i can see is rx data rate 896
tx data rate 448
N/A

"upgrading your line"

There is a useful guide to finding your line stats using your modem here

Thanks as ever to kitz for a wonderful source of info. Wink
ady
Grafter
Posts: 289
Registered: 25-09-2007

"upgrading your line"

ahh nice one

playing a DotA right now Tongue (warcraft 3 )

ill post results in hour or so Smiley thx
N/A

"upgrading your line"

Good luck with Warcraft Wink
ady
Grafter
Posts: 289
Registered: 25-09-2007

"upgrading your line"

"Press control + F1 which enables the hidden features."

Smiley nice

well i got a box with these options:

dsl link
dls failures/counters
actual config
atm counters
eoc registeres
system info
driver config
xcvr config
program eeprom
snr margin per bin
upstream bim loading
downstr bin loading
xcvr tests
oam loopback test
connection test
packet capture


--------------

err ok any ideas what i need to click which will give me that line stats ? or is there o.O tis all very confusing
N/A

"upgrading your line"

The info you are looking for is SNR and Attenuation (Attn sometimes)
I can't figure where the details willbe, but if yuo start with the top option, and work your way down, hopefully you'll find it.

The bit you want will include details such as below.
Quote
Startup State: Data Mode
Startup Progress: Completed (0xad)
Last Failed: 0x00000000
Bit Swap Counter: 0x00000001
DSP Firmware Ver: Y1921
Local Coding Gain: 5.5
Remote Vendor ID: 0f-00-42-43-4c-41-00-00
Remote Vendor Rev: ad-00-00-00
Annex Type: Annex A
Data Rate (Rx/Tx): 1536 / 448
Line Rate (Rx/Tx): 1696 / 544
Heading: Local / Remote
Attenuation (dB): 46 / 29
SNR Margin (dB): 7 / 9



The bold bits being the pertinent info.

Sorry I'm being a bit vague, but with a bit of trial and error you should be able to find the right bit. Wink
ady
Grafter
Posts: 289
Registered: 25-09-2007

"upgrading your line"

Startup State: Data Mode
Startup Progress: Completed (0xad)
Last Failed: 0x0000006b
Bit Swap Counter: 0x00000146
DSP Firmware Ver: Y1921
Local Coding Gain: 5
Remote Vendor ID: b5-00-54-53-54-43-00-00
Remote Vendor Rev: ad-00-00-00
Annex Type: Annex A
Data Rate (Rx/Tx): 768 / 448
Line Rate (Rx/Tx): 864 / 544
Heading: Local / Remote
Attenuation (dB): 44.5 / 31.5
SNR Margin (dB): 13.5 / 7.5


well here it is !
ady
Grafter
Posts: 289
Registered: 25-09-2007

"upgrading your line"

well ive read up on this SNR margin and apprently the higher the better

well i just rechacked, and its now at 17.5 Smiley

so surely i *could* get higher speeds?

thx. ady
ady
Grafter
Posts: 289
Registered: 25-09-2007

"upgrading your line"

*bump* Smiley