cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

php error when posting

N/A

php error when posting

I just got the same, forgot to get the server string though.
60 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,357
Thanks: 607
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

php error when posting

When I posted my last message I got:

Quote
Failed sending email :: PHP ::


anyone else seeing that? (my message appeared OK).

Edit: Server was <!-- HmteacsWKdJy8VYKFcealA%3D%3D -->
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,111
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

php error when posting

I was also seeing some 'bad server response' messages in Safari when I was browsing the forums a little earlier, although they seem to have stopped now.
Liam
Grafter
Posts: 2,083
Registered: 04-04-2007

php error when posting

Thanks Jelv, I'll take a look. Anyone still seeing this?
N/A

php error when posting

Only had is once this morning.

I'll let you know if it crops up again.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,364
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

php error when posting

Had this happen to me twice this morning.

SW.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
sophos9
Grafter
Posts: 760
Registered: 12-09-2007

php error when posting

Saw it yesterday, the post was submitted correctly
Laugh
Grafter
Posts: 470
Registered: 07-08-2007

php error when posting

I'm always getting this...

I just thought it was a 'feature' Wink

Seriously, this quite often happens, but the post is virtually always successfully made. I always thought the problem was my end and a clash with our proxy server and e-safe!

But it just goes to prove that I'm not always right and I'm wrong again :?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,357
Thanks: 607
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

php error when posting

I'm wondering if it might be to do with the number of people watching a topic and hence the number of emails it tries to send. I got it when posting to the part 3 topic.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,357
Thanks: 607
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

php error when posting

I've just seen this again when posting to the new usernames topic.

Server <!-- HmteacsWKdJy8VYKFcealA%3D%3D -->
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

php error when posting

Yep.

If you post to a thread where people are 'watching' for changes, once your post is added to the thread phpBB looks for the watchers email addresses and tries to send an email to them. It is this activity that has failed for 1 or more email addresses and is usually caused by a failure with interfacing to sendmail.

Not really much you can do about it.
Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

php error when posting

Hi guys,

We've raised this internally (ref 42955) for further investigation.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,364
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

php error when posting

It happened to me posting to this message, I would be surprised if too many people were 'watching' that one though of course I could be wrong.

SW.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

php error when posting

Just happened to me as well, server:

<!-- HmteacsWKdJy8VYKFcealA%3D%3D -->
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,849
Thanks: 156
Fixes: 2
Registered: 05-04-2007

php error when posting

Strange not happened to me all, through all the posts I made yesterday and the one I made today.

Let's see if I get it when making this one...

EDIT: No I didn't Smiley