cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

community chat room?

N/A

community chat room?

I'm stuck at home on my own with a small child and not much time for socialising. I'm a bit scared of chat rooms I don't know because of virus transfer so how about a pn community chat room that's secure and safe for those of us who are lonely and desperate for support.
12 REPLIES
JonathanW
Grafter
Posts: 2,648
Registered: 02-10-2007

community chat room?

Hi,

Its not an official PlusNet chatroom, but there is one available via the usertools site. All of the details, and a basic web interface is available here
N/A

community chat room?

what's an IRC client?
JonathanW
Grafter
Posts: 2,648
Registered: 02-10-2007

community chat room?

Its a program that lets you join irc servers. Some of the big IM programs such as GAIM and Trillian also come with support for irc.

But to start off with, it's better to use the interface to get the hang of things.
N/A

community chat room?

Thanks and off I go to check it out I must say a huge thank you to all staff and users of pn for being so nice, friendly and supportive. I used to be with AOL and found too many problems that it seemed I could only rectify if I upgraded to XP. I went 9mths with no internet connection now I'm back thanks to pn. Cheesy
N/A

community chat room?

Help!!! it's not connecting me, bet I'm doing it wrong
Alecto
Grafter
Posts: 2,886
Registered: 30-07-2007

community chat room?

Just type in a Nickname over the top of your IP number and click logon
csogilvie
Grafter
Posts: 5,852
Registered: 04-04-2007

community chat room?

Quote
Help!!! it's not connecting me, bet I'm doing it wrong


Hmm, using the Web Interface? Do you get the Java one?
N/A

community chat room?

now I've moved over to Firefox it's letting me in, or could it just be that I hadn't restarted my comp after getting the extra Java stuff!!!!! Oooops. Has anyone got a spare braincell for sale?
N/A

community chat room?

I get this when I try to connect with mIRC
Quote

[10:09 pm] * Connecting to usertools.plus.net (6667)
-
[10:09 pm] Local host: nofate.asgard.jara23.co.uk (10.0.2.2)
-
[10:09 pm] -usertools.plus.net- *** Looking up your hostname...
-
[10:09 pm] -usertools.plus.net- *** Checking Ident
-
[10:09 pm] -usertools.plus.net- *** Found your hostname
-
[10:09 pm] Closing Link: powered.by.dsmirc.co.uk (Bad user info)


I know I have a url in my user info, but thats not about to change because it only advertises my blog.
csogilvie
Grafter
Posts: 5,852
Registered: 04-04-2007

community chat room?

Quote
now I've moved over to Firefox it's letting me in, or could it just be that I hadn't restarted my comp after getting the extra Java stuff!!!!! Oooops. Has anyone got a spare braincell for sale?


No, it's because I checked the IP of your post, noticed you were on the a new IP address range and emailed networks asking them to check if it was allowed through the firewall Wink
csogilvie
Grafter
Posts: 5,852
Registered: 04-04-2007

community chat room?

Quote
I know I have a url in my user info, but thats not about to change because it only advertises my blog.


I wouldn't have thought it would have mattered... but if you can try again some night when I'm online (on IRC) I can check the connection as it happens.
N/A

community chat room?

Thank you Colin very much appreciated, big x