cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

can I find out if I can receive 24mb?

N/A

can I find out if I can receive 24mb?

I have been on Be's website https://www.bethere.co.uk/
and it says 'Be’s broadband is available in your area now.'.
However, it appears to only offer 'up to 24mb' package.
Could that be a play on words? A bit of a con?
If I ordered it, would I only get 'upto 8mb' like I already have if I can't get the maxdsl+2 or whatever it's called?
If you catch my drift.
Anyway, is there a way of finding out if my exchange can support the upto 24mb connections? So I know for sure that I can receive it.
19 REPLIES
N/A

can I find out if I can receive 24mb?

Depends on distance from exchange, line quality etc, check http://www.samknows.com/broadband/checker2.php to find how far you are away.

Will you really get 24 megs? This is what BE says:


https://www.bethere.co.uk/generalFAQ.do#faq9
shellsong
Grafter
Posts: 2,191
Registered: 03-08-2007

can I find out if I can receive 24mb?

No one on Be* has been able to get 24 Mbps to my knowledge although e few have achieved over 20 Mbps-- the 24 Mbps is a lab test result and in the real world line quality and noise levels are far from perfect

That said your stats would indicate that, even with nearly 2 Km of line, you would probably be up with the best of them (unless your SNR figures are a quirk of your modem!) Cheesy
craign
Grafter
Posts: 122
Registered: 01-08-2007

can I find out if I can receive 24mb?

From that link, "If the quality of the copper is perfect, and there is no line noise, you will receive 24 megs up to a kilometre from the exchange." - ho ho

Perfect copper is a meaningless phrase - perfect quality ? A Km of copper with no resistance? supercooled maybe?. No line noise is a physical impossibility. But apart from that, then 24M is perfectly achieveable :?
shellsong
Grafter
Posts: 2,191
Registered: 03-08-2007

can I find out if I can receive 24mb?

I have pointed that out on the Be* forum but the thing is that is what came out of the lab tests of ADSL2+, however they were referring to the ideal of a single shielded twisted pair with no joints and no external noise sources (not zero resistance though!)

What we get in our homes is at the end of a twisted pair that has travelled cheek by jowl with other twisted pairs in a bundle picking up crosstalk with connections made (some dubious) at intervals down manholes, in damp or even wet conditions, up poles or in street cabinets
N/A

can I find out if I can receive 24mb?

ok ok, I don't expect to get 24mb! what I'm sorta trying to ask is; how can I make sure I can get on this 'ADSL2+', so that I can effectively get the 'upto' 24 mbs? I don't mind if it 4mb or 14mb, just would like to know if I can get on the actual 'ADSL2+' service Cheesy Why I was thinking, if I could find out if they do it in my exchange. Apologies for my ramblings, I'm not too knowledgable about ADSL/ISP's etc.
Because I don't want to order it, if, after fiddling away, they find 3 days later I can't receive it!
Smiley

PS. Thank you very much ian555! That first link is superb.
Here's results;

Congratulations, you are in a broadband enabled area.
However, your line is currently unbundled by an LLU operator such as Be, Bulldog or Easynet. Moving to another provider may require a cease and re-provide, which may result in loss of service for a few days.

The following services are available in your location:

Green Light: BT Wholesale ADSL
Green Light: BT Wholesale ADSL Max
Green Light: BT Wholesale SDSL
Green Light: Be LLU
Green Light: Bulldog LLU
Green Light: Easynet LLU (aka Sky Broadband)
Green Light: Homechoice LLU
Green Light: Pipex LLU
Green Light: NTL Cable
Amber Light: 21CN switch-over due Q1 2009
shellsong
Grafter
Posts: 2,191
Registered: 03-08-2007

can I find out if I can receive 24mb?

If you go to https://www.bethere.co.uk/ you can stick in your postcode/phone number and it will tell you whether your exchange is enabled or otherwise when they hope it will be-- mine's down as Feb 2007 now and hopefully it will be then or earlier! :roll:

Edit: You lucky so and so! Cheesy
N/A

can I find out if I can receive 24mb?

Yes, it says I can! Smiley
HOWEVER! I'm worried about this bit it says;

'However, your line is currently unbundled by an LLU operator such as Be, Bulldog or Easynet. Moving to another provider may require a cease and re-provide, which may result in loss of service for a few days. '

What does that mean in effect?

Moderators note by John (johnessex0 Full quote of preceding post removed as per the
Link:rules
shellsong
Grafter
Posts: 2,191
Registered: 03-08-2007

can I find out if I can receive 24mb?

I thought Customer Services swore blind that you weren't on the Tiscali LLU! It sounds like the idiots have put you on it!

I would suggest that you settle this once and for all by asking for a MAC-- You don't have to use it if you don't want to but if they say it'll take a while getting one out of Tiscali you'll know for sure

From what I've read on the Be forum it seems that they do accept LLU MACs now although you might be wise to ask them if you fancy transferring

Alternatively, since they have never sent you notification of being put on the LLU, you could contact PlusNet and insist they put you back on the BT product at their expense-- it's one of the things they have said they would do
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,440
Thanks: 1,017
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

can I find out if I can receive 24mb?

@machina777 In this post on the 24th October http://portal.plus.net/central/forums/viewtopic.php?t=50024
you said
Quote
As of 4-5 days ago, my speed when from a healthy 4mb+ down, and 0.5mb up, to a 1mb connection, end of story. I have been PUT on a 1mb connection, yet I'm PAYING for up to 8mb Premier 1, now am I being taken for a mug or what? I got through to a guy on the phone last night at 8pm, who told me (news to me) I've been put on an alternate supplier, and confirmed by checking that I HAVE been put on the 1mb package. Now he sent the supplier an e-mail to rectify this mistake, and said I'd be switched back in a few hours, or if I still had 1mb today, to ring through. Now I've been on my phone for ages, waiting for someone, but am sick of waiting. I want someone to just press a button, or make a call or whatever to get me switched back
shellsong
Grafter
Posts: 2,191
Registered: 03-08-2007

can I find out if I can receive 24mb?

Yes, but that phone call is the only communication machina777 has had saying he was on LLU see http://portal.plus.net/central/forums/viewtopic.php?p=370363&highlight=#370363
Quote
Ok, I finally found the 'tickets' things,
'help and support'/'my questions'/'view: 'all questions'.
I went through all, and found nothing telling me they were putting my on LLU tiscalli, the only thing I found, was this:

'Your comment 12:27pm, Wednesday 19th April 2006

This customer(postmaster@machina777.plus.com, Cc: blahblah@hotmail.com) was mailed the following message:
Subject: 'Your broadband regrade is complete'

Dear Mr Jonathan Dadswell,

PlusNet are pleased to confirm that your broadband regrade to BT IPStream Max is now complete.

Please note: You may need to reboot your modem or router before you can experience your new speed.

If you do have any further queries, our friendly Support team can be contacted via the convenient Contact Us facility at our website, http://portal.plus.net/, or by telephone on 0845 1400200.

Kind regards,

Customer Support

PlusNet - The Smarter Way to Broadband
http://portal.plus.net/
'

I'll wait till they sort out getting me back on up to 8mb and off the wrong '1mb' they put me on, then I'll ring them up and ask they transfer me back over to BT maxdsl?
And what if they ask me to pay the £49?!

Also, am I right in thinking now, the only good way of moving ISP without fuss, is to get BACK to BT Maxdsl! And then when done, to obtain a MAC code?

Thanks guys for all your help, I really appreciate this Smiley
N/A

can I find out if I can receive 24mb?

@holtlane

You've lost me. What are you trying to say exactly? :roll:
shellsong
Grafter
Posts: 2,191
Registered: 03-08-2007

can I find out if I can receive 24mb?

I assumed holtlane reckoned that counted as PlusNet informing you whereas all that should really count is PlusNet emailing you to tell you that they were planning to move you onto their "alternate supplier" (Tiscali) and pointing you to the Opt Out system so you had a timely choice. This, you have indicated, they failed to do in spite of their alleged "automatic system" that they put in place after the initial farrago in the early Summer

This should interest you:-

http://portal.plus.net/central/forums/viewtopic.php?p=329559#329559

Quote
Hi

Notice should be given in time to move, or opt out should you wish. The opt-out facility is still available. I did update this forum saying that customers were now being emailed as expected.

We will be reviewing the list of possible exchanges and emailing any customers on exchanges which have recently been added.

If you no longer wish to remain a customer, we would attempt migration firstly, and would then cover the cost if this is not available. We have stated that no one will lose out financially due to this issue.
Teatime
Grafter
Posts: 61
Registered: 05-04-2007

can I find out if I can receive 24mb?

This is all very interesting Smiley I also received an e-mail from be* telling me my exchange is now enabled, and have started considering a move to them.

I seem to have similar concerns to the OP. I'm not expecting 24mb, but am hopeful of decent speeds (or far better than what I have, unfortunately, been experiencing on Plusnet recently). My main concern is the MAC, specifically whether or not I have been LLUed: could someone please remind me how I find out whether or not I have been LLUed? AFAIAA, I have only been MAXed (confirmed by e-mail from Plusnet).

Ivor
N/A

can I find out if I can receive 24mb?

Hi Ivor, if you go to http://www.samknows.com/broadband/checker2.php it should tell you in you are on LLU or ADSL - also, I think I'm right in saying that if you do a speed test http://www.adslguide.org.uk/tools/speedtest.asp and your upload is more than 448k then generally speaking you are on LLU.

But I will stand corrected by AN Other!

HTH - TL