cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

anyone else with NON-wireless got strange amount of traffic?

N/A

I'm an IT professional, amongst other things I build networks, know how to look after my machines, keep them clean, etc etc etc

just recently have noticed unusual amount of traffic on my account, eg 175mb today, and all I've been to are some IT forums, googled and visited rock climbing sites(ie small) and watched a few video on clips on wimp.com.

Ahaa, you say, video clips = big files. No, not if only about 5-10 of them, each a couple of mins long max, and nothing huge in Temp Int Files. No quicktime either.

Anyway, in case I was guilty, phoned a few other friends using plusnet. Turns out they've also had unusually high traffic on their accounts recently, which is why I am posting here.

Anyone else noticed this? Higher traffic DOES equal more $$$ for certain parties........ Of course, could all be a mistake on our behalf, but......

Sad

oh, have router with NAT, multiple firewalls, use spybot et al all the time, FWIW
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Its hard to be certain but yes I've just had a look at my usage and a couple days this week have been much higher than normal (over 200 meg)

It's possible that mine has been caused by using "World Wind" and "Google Earth" a fair bit this week. Those programs download new images as you zoom in.

I'll keep my eye on it though and see if without using those its still gets high days.
N/A

Mine seems OK.

Allowing for the 1000/1024 difference, my own figure for this billing month (20th to 19th) works out to 1.499 GB, so 1.50 to two decimal places. PlusNet's figure is 1.51 - I wouldn't argue with a small difference like that.
N/A

bump
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Fixes: 1

Hi,