cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Xmas Tree Lights

pcmanning
Grafter
Posts: 41
Registered: 01-08-2007

Xmas Tree Lights

Just getting racked off now, opened a question about why after a couple of weeks of stable 1500kbps connections I get dropped down to 500kpbs - provide all the key info - i.e. nothing changed at my end, speed tests history show the issue clearly, rebooted the router 3 times (twice)... So after a raft of tech support guys asking the same questions I'd already answered, the call gets closed with no resolution. Odd I thought - though this has happened before - and I checked the last comment:

Quote

Please advise if you have changed anything in your property recently. As adding things like christmas tree lights can cause interfence on your line so which can leave you not being able to connect or reduce the speed on your line.

Please also ensure that you have tested with alternate filters and that you are testing in your master socket.


Please tell me this is a joke. Perhaps JamesBailey could look at it - he clearly seems to know what he's doing - is it enough to post here, or should I PM him?

cheers
Paul
11 REPLIES
Firejack
Grafter
Posts: 921
Registered: 26-06-2007

Xmas Tree Lights

James will no doubt be along any moment..

Christmas tree lights do have an impact. They have to be within very close proximity of your connection though.
Don't imagine many people decorating their computers and routers for Christmas though Wink
So its a rare problem.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Xmas Tree Lights

Seriously, it is a valid point (look at my sticky at the top of this discussion board!).

They can cause interference, leading to intermittency and poor speeds.

Ticket shouldn't have been closed though, and if you are connecting directly into the test socket with filters changed then I can't suggest a reason for this occurring other than the lights theory, causing your router to resync at a lower level, causing the BT BRAS profile to be reduced.

It should pick up again in time.
pcmanning
Grafter
Posts: 41
Registered: 01-08-2007

Xmas Tree Lights

OK here's my speed stats...

16-12-2006 16:06:41 472.1
16-12-2006 16:03:50 479.3
16-12-2006 16:03:32 484.2
16-12-2006 16:03:04 418.3
16-12-2006 15:51:58 480.6
14-12-2006 21:04:42 1220.8
14-12-2006 18:38:06 1420.8
14-12-2006 18:36:20 1226.9
08-12-2006 18:16:45 486.4
05-12-2006 19:50:08 481.1
03-12-2006 10:29:15 481.1
02-12-2006 09:24:26 475.5
30-11-2006 20:46:30 478.9
26-11-2006 16:13:50 1122.3
19-11-2006 11:01:58 1305.2
19-11-2006 11:01:32 1193.8
17-11-2006 20:12:21 1363.5
16-11-2006 18:01:39 1362.8
16-11-2006 17:57:27 1170.4
15-11-2006 21:21:59 668.2

So working from 16-11-2006 after a lot of problems which were sorted by upgrading the firmware & IOS version on my router. Continuously happy until 26-11-2006 - after then rubbish. Xmas lights on tree "installed" 10-12-2006 and they are a reasonable distance away from the router in any case.

The router is still happy to sync at a smidgen under 2000kbps and always has.

So should I wander down the full 4km to my exchange and ask everyone to turn off their Xmas lights? Any perhaps their house lights, microwave ovens, TV's, ....

Paul
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Xmas Tree Lights

You make it sound like that's not a realistic suggestions! Wink

What results are you getting out of a BT Speedtest?
pcmanning
Grafter
Posts: 41
Registered: 01-08-2007

Xmas Tree Lights

Never managed to get it to work - always too busy.

Setup is Cisco 877w plugged into master socket (replaced with a clarity master face plate) - so should have removed all the rubbish from the phones in the house - which only has one phone in anyway. PC connects via wireless.

Have to try the speedtest from a PC hooked up via wireless - which I guess is not going to work anyway? Either because it's NAT or because of the Firewall on the Cisco?

Paul
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Xmas Tree Lights

Right, never mind.

Looking at the current BRAS setting, I would expect this to shortly change. Can you try wiring in your changed microfilter into the test socket overnight and see if you see any improvement overnight?

If not I'll have your fault sent to BT.
pcmanning
Grafter
Posts: 41
Registered: 01-08-2007

Xmas Tree Lights

Not clear about this. The master socket was replaced about a year ago with a Clarity faceplate which includes a micro filter to filter out all the phones. The router just plugs straight into the ADSL socket without a filter (obviously).

What's the BRAS setting relationship to the "stable rate" I can see via the portal?

Do you want me to power-cycle the router again tomorrow or do you expect to see an improvement in any case?

Paul
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Xmas Tree Lights

Our stable rate is set to roughly what the bRAS is (we set it to the nearest 500kbps).

You won't need to try the test socket if you have a filtered faceplate.

Please, reboot the router in the morning and we'll run a quick check from here and raise to BT if it is still an issue.
pcmanning
Grafter
Posts: 41
Registered: 01-08-2007

Xmas Tree Lights

Thanks James - nice to talk to someone who knows what's what!

Will post results tomorrow.


cheers
Paul
pcmanning
Grafter
Posts: 41
Registered: 01-08-2007

Xmas Tree Lights

Have another ticket open - 20929886 which is asking loads of questions, but does seem to show...

DSL MAX
Downstream Line Rate 576
Downstream Line Rate Timestamp 16/12/2006 04:02:04
Maximum Stable Rate Re-set (Y/N) N
Profile Change Time 06/10/2006 22:50:29
Maximum Stable Rate 1728
Fault Threshold Rate 1209
Interleaved Opt In

Why the difference between:

Downstream Line Rate 576

And

Maximum Stable Rate 1728

Not going to get chance to much over Xmas, but after, I'll bump logging up on the router and perhaps see if I can get something clever going with SNMP to monitor the various DSL stats over time.

cheers
Paul
Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Xmas Tree Lights

Hi,

The Downstream line rate is your current IP profile, and will be restricted to that speed by BT, if you're consistently syncing at a higher speed this should increase within around three days.

That said, your last delta report was received on the 16th, which changed your connection profile to 576.

I've asked one of our faults guys to raise this to BT for you and see what they come back with.