cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why does a power-cycle increase speed?

krodgers
Grafter
Posts: 85
Registered: 11-09-2007

Why does a power-cycle increase speed?

There's geting to be a pattern on my BB+ with MaxDSL in operation for the past 2 or 3 weeks.
At peak time, I can start off at a very good 4500kbps, and it gradually drops.
Tonight at one point, I was actually down to 50kbps on an external test, and couldn't even get to the PN test to try it there (10 minutes, and still not into the Speed Test page!)

Power-cycle the router, and back it went to 3600kbs.
This is getting to be a regular pattern, with 6-10 power cycles per evening.

The burnig question..... WHY??

Ken Rodgers
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,364
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

Why does a power-cycle increase speed?

Monitor your SNR or Noise Margin depending on your router model.

When SNR is low, it means the noise is likely to be interfering with the wanted modem signals and hence your throughput drops. At this point if you momentarily remove you router from the phone socket (no need to power cycle), it will retrain and will see the noise and so avoid using the noisey channels and so your throughput maybe good again.

So what is your SNR doing at these times when your throughput is low?

SW.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
krodgers
Grafter
Posts: 85
Registered: 11-09-2007

Why does a power-cycle increase speed?

I don't know.

It's a D-link 540, and it doesn't show SNR:-(
I suspect that it would if I were brave enough to update the firmware....

I have access to Netgear router.
I suppose I could try that.....

Meanwhile, next time I'll try your idea of unplugging it from the phone socket and see what happens.

Tell me though, why would the SNR drop after a period?
Do they keep talking more quietly until I say "Eh?"? :-)

Ken Rodgers
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,364
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

Why does a power-cycle increase speed?

Is your router one of these

http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.htm#anchor15

SW.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
csogilvie
Grafter
Posts: 5,852
Registered: 04-04-2007

Why does a power-cycle increase speed?

If you are powercycling your router, it's possible that when you reconnect you end up back on a better-performing gateway, which would cuase an increase in throughput I suspect.
krodgers
Grafter
Posts: 85
Registered: 11-09-2007

Why does a power-cycle increase speed?

Quote
Is your router one of these

http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.htm#anchor15

SW.


No - that's the newer one.
Mine's one of the original A-series

Ken