cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What's the best to be on now - ptn or pte?

benskia
Grafter
Posts: 108
Registered: 17-09-2007

What's the best to be on now - ptn or pte?

Hi.
Just checking 'cos my speeds seem to have screwed a bit just recently.
Not quite as bad as a it was a few weeks back, but getting higher pings than usual.

Before, the server to be on was the ptn one.
Is that still the case?

Thanks.
9 REPLIES
N/A

What's the best to be on now - ptn or pte?

Difficult to say, ptn-ag1 seems to have had some more serious problems recently, but the other telehouse north and east gateways haven't exactly been rosy. Apparently some of the problems have been isolated and resolved.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

What's the best to be on now - ptn or pte?

ptn-ag1 is a separate 155Mbs pipe that is not part of the main pool. PN put a select group of realms on it and it could not cope

If you are not one the the realms assigned exclusively to that pipe then you should never get assigned to it. The realms are I believe @plus.net and @plus.uk.net and possible a force9 one as well.
Ommin
Grafter
Posts: 356
Registered: 04-08-2007

What's the best to be on now - ptn or pte?

Quote
ptn-ag1 is a separate 155Mbs pipe that is not part of the main pool. PN put a select group of realms on it and it could not cope

Not true. Dave T says it's working fine. Wink

It's nice to be part of a select group ( not )

2Mb line
ptn-ag1
@plus.net
Metronet 155 pipe
N/A

What's the best to be on now - ptn or pte?

I feel special.
Ommin
Grafter
Posts: 356
Registered: 04-08-2007

What's the best to be on now - ptn or pte?

Quote
I feel special.

The thought that there might be a gateway worse than ptn-ag1 gives me nightmares. :lol:
N/A

Re: What's the best to be on now - ptn or pte?

Quote
What's the best to be on now - ptn or pte?

.


The the best to be on now -is VALIUM Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,653
Registered: 13-06-2007

What's the best to be on now - ptn or pte?

i'm on ptn-ag2 and never seem to have any problems with it
Ommin
Grafter
Posts: 356
Registered: 04-08-2007

What's the best to be on now - ptn or pte?

Quote
i'm on ptn-ag2 and never seem to have any problems with it

The main problems are with ptn-ag1 and they have been ongoing now for almost three weeks. Wish I could join you over on ptn-ag2 but I can't and yet I am constantly assured that I am not being disadvantaged by being in a 'select group.'
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

What's the best to be on now - ptn or pte?

Quote
i'm on ptn-ag2 and never seem to have any problems with it


That is a completely separate gateway on one of the 622Mbs pipes. It is only ptn-ag1 that is linked to the problematic 155Mbs old metronet pipe