cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What are transit problems?

N/A

I assume (wrongly or rightly) that the jist of nameservers is that they take in www addresses at one end, and push out IP addresses the other (bit like a phone directory).

Then there's this "transit" thing being talked of.

Can someone explain to me what the name servers actually do and what this transit thing is?
8 REPLIES
LiamM
Grafter

Transit is connectivity to the internet external to Plusnet. Plusnet will 'peer' with a number of 'transit' providers to pass traffic to and from the wider internet outside of Plusnet's network.
N/A

Ahhh.... right.

Thankyou.
N/A

I am not a full expert on this but my understanding is:

Computers are connected via the Internet. Each computer has a number to allow it to be identified, known as an IP (Internet Protocol) address. These numbers usually have the form <0-255>.<0-255>.<0-255>.<0-255>.<0-255> e.g. 212.159.13.49

This is a little limiting as thre are only a finite number of IP addresses. So the Web uses DNS (Domain Name Servers) to translate a website URL (Universal Resource Location), which has the more humanly readable form: e.g. www.adomain.com. A DNS server will translate the URL (the www.adomain.com) to an IP address so the computers can talk to each other.

I belive DNSs are doing some other clever tricks to overcome the finite number of IP addresses available but I have never been able to understand this when doing an FTP (File Transfer Protocol) connection to a computer does not use the DNS system.

Looking at the current problems people are having is would appear that the DNS servers (these are not run by PlusNet) are not working properly so people are having problems browsing website. I cannot connect to any sites outside the UK and I can't play DAoC or GuildWars Sad

hope this might be some help :?
pjemmanuel
Grafter