cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Website transfer limits

N/A

Website transfer limits

Today I received an e-mail letting me know I was abusing the daily transfer limit on my webspace!

Now this is a little annoying since even though the daily limit is 250Mb a day, I was sure that PlusNet only minded if that totalled up to over 7750Mb in a month (which this didn't). In fact, I was so sure of this that I checked the last "abuse" e-mail I got and yes, I was right!

From an e-mail I got a few months ago warning that I was approaching the limit:
Total monthly usage so far: 6446.93MB
Total monthly allowance: 7750MB

So why this change of policy? Whether I use 250Mb per day over the course of a month or 7750Mb over a few days during the end of the month then no more, I don't see what the difference is. (It won't affect your averages and I can't imagine the server having problems - though I'm not an expert so I might be wrong). It just makes the webspace considerably less useful to me.

Finally then, do you have any ideas on how to ensure only 250Mb/day is transferred? I can't sit here all day checking the bandwidth monitor. I think if it's an option I'd prefer to have the webspace shutdown after the transfer limit is reached if it can automatically spring back into life the next day and do another 250Mb (without me having to e-mail in or anything).

Cheers,
James.
3 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Website transfer limits

Plusnet keep track of bandwidth usage on a daily basis. They have set the limits to stop people abusing the system and thus effecting all other users. I website that suddenly or over a period increases it's bandwidth to be over the maximum for several days will be instructed to take steps to reduce the bandwidth usage to an acceptable level or have their web services suspended.

This is to ensure all users get an acceptable access speeds to their website.

You have 3 options: